Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    I want to install the new version of Spybot 1.3 Will this download over my current version (1.2) or should I uninstall version 1.2 first and then download the new version. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Hi Jeff,
    I've recently installed S&D 1.3 and it appears to overwrite the previous version with no problems.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    I've always been one to remove an older version before installing a new one, but it's personal preference. I just feel better that way. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    I uninstalled it. I do that as general practice when I moved to new software versions.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    You can install 1.3 over the old version but as others have said, it's a good practice to uninstall the old first.
    I think the exception might be if you wanted to retain custom settings and configurations.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    That's a good point, but sometimes the settings and configurations are significantly different in the new version and will require some changes anyway. That depends, of course, on how comprehensive the new version of the software is. It's always advisable to check out what changes have been made. Often, they're relatively minor, but sometimes not.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    I've done both on various machines (i.e. uninstalled v1.2 first, and also installed 1.3 on top of 1.2) - no apparent problems with either!

    The only thing I found is that once you've installed it without "Tea Timer" you don't appear to be able to add TeaTimer later without another install. (TeaTimer seems to be a "startup locations monitor", much like Mike Lin's StartupMonitor, which I've used very happily for ages. About all I can say about it so far is that the TeaTimer service seems to use about 4% CPU on my very ancient 133 MHz NT4 box!)

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    To start/stop "Tea Timer"

    1/ Run Spybot S&D in advanced mode
    2/ Select Tools in left pane & then select Resident

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Thanks, Tony, but I'm not sure what question you're answering!

    Are you saying that if I hadn't selected Tea Timer at installation time, I can subsequently start it using the method you give, without having to install Spybot again?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    When I installed Spybot I did not select "Tea Timer". I subsequently started "Tea Timer" using this method without re-installing Spybot.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Tony

    Thanks!

    Shows again that I have no idea what I'm talking about!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Hi John & Tony:
    I had no idea what "Tea Timer" was until I saw your posts. Actually, I still don't know what it is. The only reference was that it protects "overall system settings". Any idea what that is?
    Thanks,

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Phil

    Look at the stuff in brackets in <post#=373837>post 373837</post#>! I reveal all (well, some!)...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    I saw that, John. But the description in Spybot seems to imply more. So, in other words, it prevents new applications from adding themselves to your startup registry keys unless you deliberately allow it? I haven't used any startup monitors before...just msconfig to uncheck whatever I didn't want to run.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Uninstall old spybot before download 1.3?

    Phil,
    See the post John mentioned for a link to Mike Lin's startup Monitor. I've used it for quite a while. I like being able to stop things from getting into my startup rather than figure out later that I don't want it to start. Seems like everybody wants to 'phone home' these days to check for updates. I'd rather delude myself into thinking I'm in control. <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •