Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florence, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    When I bought my Dell Dimension 4600 PC, I asked for a video card that would support two analog monitors. They supplied an NVIDIA GeForce Fx 5200 card which contains one analog and one digital output. In addition they supplied one digital to analog converter to support my second monitor. In practice I can get only one of the output ports to work at a time.

    I tried contacting NVIDIA tech support, but there isn

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    John,
    I also have a NVIDIA GeForce Fx 5200 card in my system but I was of the thinking that this card could be used for EITHER analog OR digital outputs, NOT both at the same time.
    However, I looked through all of the setup and settings for this card and it seems that the NVidia "Nview"
    Display mode must be enabled in order for the dual monitors to be configured. I do not use dual monitors, so I didn't go into any of these settings. There should be a nview dropdown in the settings page that will enable you to get to these options.

    Also do you have the latest NVidia drivers for this card? Should be version 56.72. I think these are the latest, despite what the MS update shows.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florence, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    Bob, Thank you for your suggestions. I wasn't even aware that there is a GeForce 5200 tab in Settings, Advanced. My experiments did not help though. (Before I go into that, let me reafferm that the primary analog monitor is connected to the card's analog output and the second analog monitor to the card's digital output through the digital to analog converter thingee. At bootup the Windows Splash screen is displayed briefly on both monitors so the signals and connections are working OK. Then as Windows comes up the second screen blanks out. Also, monitor two works fine as the primary if it simply swap the connections.)

    Now onto the GeForce 5200 tab... I switched from Single Monitor to DualView and the little display window below switched from showing one screen to showing two. However the screens are labeled "Analog Display 1 + Analog Display 2". It's as if the driver (it's up to date) does not know that the second output is digital. And when I click on the "Detect Displays" button, the window switches back to display only one screen. It says that it cannot detect the second screen. I'm out of ideas.

    John

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    Hi John,
    First of all, I think we should get on the same page ( so to speak )
    The latest version of the NVidia drivers is 56.72

    You can download a copy from NVidia HERE

    I checked the manual for the 5200FX that I have and it DEFINITELY will handle a mix of displays including 1 analog and 1 digital and other combinations. However the manual I have is for version 43.03, so the current version is much changed from the manual.

    So get the latest drivers and install them. You can update right over the old ones.
    Once you have 56.72, open the Nview Desktop Manager and it even has a setup wizard for multiple monitors.
    You can also download the current manual from the same site as long as you have Adobe on your machine.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    John, Just wanted to add this screenshot of the main Nvida screen to show how to tell what version you have installed.
    The last four digits on the right show version 56.72
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florence, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Configuring my video card for dual monitors

    Hi Bob,
    You are absolutely right. Windows had somehow lost track of my latest drivers and was showing something like 40.03 (or maybe 50.03). Then it gave up entirely, gave me an error saying that the driver was old and incompatible with XP, and was reverting to the XP default driver. I will follow your advise, download and repeat my experiments.

    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •