Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    Shuttle MB, Pent III 933 overclocked to 1050 MHZ, 768 MB SDRAM.
    I was using a Mad Dog {ATI Radeon 7200 64 MB DDR} in my Computer. I played UT 2003 and other 3D games and it was very smooth. I changed my video card to a {ATI 9600 Pro 128 MB DDR} and it stutters while playing games. I have tried everything. Newest VIA 4-1 Drivers, Newest Drivers for the 9600 from ATI webb site and it still stutters during play. What the hell is up with that? Why would a 7200 ATI play so smooth and the 9600 be such a piece of crap?
    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18><IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/cowboydawg_sig.gif> <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    Defective Card ???? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    I don't have access to either of those boards, Cowboy, but is it possible that ATI has an advanced setting somewhere in there that you need to monkey around with? The only reason I ask is that I had trouble with an entirely different ATI card on a machine I was trying to access remotely on my in-home LAN (using RADMIN) and the darn thing kept closing the connection on me. Finally, with help from RADMIN support, found an obscure ATI setting that had to be turned off and the thing works flawlessly now. ATI's settings are sometimes tough to figure out.

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Darkest Kent, UK., Kent, England
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    Not having access to either, is the 9600 one of those cards that has it's own power socket to connect directly to the PSU? Even if it does, and it is, is the PSU up to the job?

    Just brainstorming here...

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    <blockquote><hr> is the 9600 one of those cards that has it's own power socket to connect directly to the PSU?<hr></blockquote>

    Nope, don't even have a fan. <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31> So far it has stayed cool though.

    I took the other one back and got another one just like it,,,same problem.

    I have checked every setting I can find,, and then some,,with minimum results
    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18><IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/cowboydawg_sig.gif> <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,376
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    Hey Cowboy,
    Here's something from the ATI FAQ:
    "Unreal Tournament 2003: screen momentarily goes blank in certain scenes
    This issue affects Unreal Tournament 2003 when using a RADEON series product.

    When playing some maps, the screen may appear to momentarily blank when entering certain areas.

    This issue does not appear to affect all levels within the game and appears most often when playing in an "indoor" section of the map.


    Epic Games has released a patch to correct this issue. Obtain and install patch version 2166 and higher to correct this issue. The updated file is available here.

    For further information on this issue and details how to obtain the appropriate update, please visit the Epic Games' website.


    INFO-BASE# 4100"

    Joe

  8. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Crapola (WinXp Pro)

    Hi Cowboy,
    I don't have an ATI myself but it seems there was a lot of moaning and groaning going on about the 9600 Pro and the 9600XT. Most seemed to be about the slow memory on board the card. I copied a sample from one tech mag: They were talking about the XT which is a newer version of the Pro but apparently they ( ATI ) hadn't changed the type of DDR memory from one card to another.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    The Radeon 9600 XT is the next in a long line of mid-range programmable shader cards from ATI. Its core runs at a whopping 500MHz, giving its four pixel pipelines more than enough juice to paint polygons with aplomb. Unfortunately, the 9600 XT is crippled by slow memory speeds. It has 128MB of DDR SDRAM running on a 128-bit bus at just 300MHz
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    I did notice a blurb from one user that had a suggestion that seemed to work for him. You might want to try it. ( won't hurt )

    Go to Control Panel>Display>settings>advanced>troubleshooting.
    DIS -able write combining ( if it's there ) and move hardware accelleration DOWN a notch.

    Google around for "ATI 9600 Pro slow"; there are a lot of hits there. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •