Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    All of a sudden I can

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    John

    The database hasn't been copied and pasted from a CD recently has it ?
    Only a long shot but, DB's copied from a CD are Read Only on the target drive.
    Other than that, the startup setting haven't been changed for some reason have they ?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    Hi Dave

    None of the above, however while researching your suggestions I found something else that wasn't quite right even though not related to specific problem and haven

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    John

    What did you find ?
    It might help other users if they have the same problem.

    Glad you sorted it though .

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    Dave

    It was wasn't getting to this code on a decompile

    I use this code because most of my users have full access installed and I haven't restricted their menu use,
    just in case they stray so I can reset start parameters

    John

    <pre>Function SetStartupProperties()
    Const DB_Text As Long = 10
    Const DB_Boolean As Long = 1

    ' Tools->Options->View
    Application.SetOption "Show Status Bar", True
    Application.SetOption "ShowWindowsInTaskbar", True '// Access 2000

    ' Tools->Options->General
    Application.SetOption "Track Name AutoCorrect Info", False
    Application.SetOption "Perform Name AutoCorrect", False
    Application.SetOption "Log Name AutoCorrect Changes", False

    ' Tools->Options->Edit/Find
    Application.SetOption "Confirm Record Changes", True
    Application.SetOption "Confirm Document Deletions", True
    Application.SetOption "Confirm Action Queries", False

    ' Tools->Options->Advanced
    Application.SetOption "Default Open Mode for Databases", 0 ' Shared, -1 = Exclusive

    Application.SetOption "Default Record Locking", 2 ' Edited record only, 0=No Locks, 1=All records
    Application.SetOption "OLE/DDE Timeout (Sec)", 30
    Application.SetOption "Refresh Interval (Sec)", 60
    Application.SetOption "Number of Update Retries", 2
    Application.SetOption "ODBC Refresh Interval (Sec)", 1500
    Application.SetOption "Update Retry Interval (Msec)", 250

    ' ? Application.SetOption "Built-In Toolbars Available", blnResult

    ''Where blnResult is False if it is an MDB, and true if an MDE.

    If gstrTemp = "Development" Then
    ChangeProperty "AppTitle", DB_Text, "*** NBS Development Enviornment ***"
    ChangeProperty "AppIcon", DB_Text, " "

    ChangeProperty "StartupMenuBar", DB_Text, "(default)"

    ChangeProperty "StartupShortcutMenuBar", DB_Text, "(default)"

    ChangeProperty "StartupForm", DB_Text, "ezy_Session"
    ChangeProperty "StartupShowDBWindow", DB_Boolean, False
    ChangeProperty "StartupShowStatusBar", dbBoolean, True ' 10/23/03
    ChangeProperty "AllowBuiltinToolbars", DB_Boolean, True
    ChangeProperty "AllowToolbarChanges", DB_Boolean, True
    ChangeProperty "AllowShortcutMenus", DB_Boolean, True
    ChangeProperty "AllowFullMenus", DB_Boolean, True
    ChangeProperty "AllowBreakIntoCode", DB_Boolean, True
    ChangeProperty "AllowSpecialKeys", DB_Boolean, True
    'ChangeProperty "AllowBypassKey", DB_Boolean, True
    Else ' must be production

    ChangeProperty "AppTitle", DB_Text, GetPref("AppTitle")
    ChangeProperty "AppIcon", DB_Text, GetPref("AppIcon")

    'ChangeProperty "StartupMenuBar", DB_Text, "NBS Building Menu"
    ChangeProperty "StartupMenuBar", DB_Text, GetPref("StartupMenuBar")

    ChangeProperty "StartupShortcutMenuBar", DB_Text, GetPref("StartupShortcutMenuBar")

    ChangeProperty "StartupForm", DB_Text, GetPref("StartupForm")
    ChangeProperty "StartupShowDBWindow", DB_Boolean, GetPref("StartupShowDBWindow")
    ChangeProperty "StartupShowStatusBar", dbBoolean, GetPref("StartupShowStatusBar") ' 10/23/03
    ChangeProperty "AllowBuiltinToolbars", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowBuiltinToolbars")
    ChangeProperty "AllowToolbarChanges", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowToolbarChanges")
    ChangeProperty "AllowShortcutMenus", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowShortcutMenus")
    ChangeProperty "AllowFullMenus", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowFullMenus")
    ChangeProperty "AllowBreakIntoCode", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowBreakIntoCode")
    ChangeProperty "AllowSpecialKeys", DB_Boolean, GetPref("AllowSpecialKeys")
    'ChangeProperty "AllowBypassKey", DB_Boolean, False
    End If

    End Function</pre>


  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Way To Check How DB Was Opened? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-7)

    I have had the same type of situation a little while ago.
    My problem was that I could not edit a database as the database always told me it was locked by a computer on out network not even running. Come to find out that someone did use the database from the other computer.
    The database closed and the .ldb file (the .mdb locking file) did not del properly.
    Del the .ldb file solved our problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •