Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    744
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Hi,
    I've based a report with a standardised header and footer. The textboxes in the main part of the report produce 2 pages.
    When I view the report out of design mode, the page count mounts to 26. I only need the first two as the other 24 are duplicated pages. Can I limit this to just 2 pages or will I have to split the report into 2 to spread the data more?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    26 Pages ?

    Is the report based on a query or a table ?
    Sounds like the report is pulling all data instead of filtered data which is specific.
    Could you be a little more descriptive of whats going on with the database.

    If you can strip out the parts of the DB which relate to this report and zip it below 100k, you can attch it to your post.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    744
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Hi Dave,
    I can do better than that. The whole Database has been zipped at 77K.
    The report produces statistics based on entries with on TblJPM. I have placed lots of text boxes with calculated boxes in that produce statistics and as such the report isn't directly based on a query.
    Just as a warning, the database opens as Boolean so the shift key will be required to open the database in design mode.
    Also, why you're having a look, for some reason I can't remove the Access toolbars from the database. I have set up 2 customized toolbars and made the FrmToolbar a menu bar, removed all the others. I have also put the following code on the On Activate command:

    DoCmd.ShowToolbar "FrmToolbar", AcToolbarNo

    In previous databases this has worked with no problems.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    About your original question: your report only calculates statistics using DCount. You don't need the individual records, so you should clear the Record Source property of the report. As it is now, the summary information will be repeated for each record in QryAll; if you clear the record source, you'll get it only once.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    You should make FrmToolbar into a toolbar again, and check the various boxes. Then hide the toolbar.

    Open the forms in which you want to display this toolbar, and set the Toolbar property (in the Other tab of the Properties window) to FrmToolbar.

    Select Tools | Startup... and clear the check box to allow built-in toolbars.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Nigel

    It seems there are 9 records in the query behind the report and with calculations on the report, is producing one page per record.
    It may be better forcing the calculations in the query instead.
    You can create a new fields in the query based on the requirements of the report i.e see below PNG attached.
    Check out the format using the colon :::FieldName:Expression

    That way you can limit the output of the query.
    I think this is part of your problem so you might try and see what happens.

    Your menu toolbar problem, look in Tools|Startup, you can allow built in toolbars etc from there.

    Sorry I couldn't help in greater detail but I'm sure this will help you on your way.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    744
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Hi Hans,
    Again thankyou for your assistance.
    If I wanted to autofill the field 'File Origin' in TblJPM based on whether the field URN begins with 36K,36G or 36N would this be done through a further query?
    I know I have had a similar query based around reports in a previous database that you were kind enough to help me with but this would be autofilling a field as opposed to producing a specific report based on the entry in the field.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    In fact, you don't need the field File Origin at all in TblJPM, since it can be derived from the URN. If you remove the File Origin field, the following query will reconstruct it on the fly:

    SELECT TblJPM.*, TblLocation.Location As [File Origin]
    FROM TblJPM, TblLocation
    WHERE (((Left([Location],1))=Mid([URN],3,1)));

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    744
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Will this have an effect on the report as this relies on the [File Origin] equaling an area?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Say that you save the query as qryJPM; you would then have to use qryJPM instead of tblJPM in other queries and in the record source of forms and reports.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    744
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    This is going to sound really dense. In what format is the query that you have posted in? I refer more to how I lay it out in the design view

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    I posted the SQL of the query. Select View | SQL to see it. You can paste SQL from a Lounge post into SQL view, and copy SQL from a query to paste it into a post.

    I have attached the design view of the query, but beware: it uses semi-colons instead of commas as list separators because of my regional settings.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (13.8 KB, 0 views)

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Limiting a page count on Reports (2000)

    Nigel, sorry I gave you incorrect info on this, but thanks to Hans, you were put back on the correct path.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •