Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Won't boot to HDD

    Howdy,
    When I turn on my old computer I receive the following message: "Boot from ATAPI CD-ROM: Failure... Starting ONTRACK Press spacebar to boot from diskette or Press C to boot from CD-ROM." THe Hard Disk Light stays on as if the disk is spinning. This is a 120 gig WD hard drive. I tried to format using the Data Lifeguard CD (I know alot of folks here don't like the Dynamic Drive Overlay) and I can supposedly format the drive, but when I attempt to reinstall WIN XP, it says a critical error has been detected and cannot proceed. Is this a hard drive problem or a software problem or??? What am I doing wrong??
    Thanks....

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    I seem to recall that you cannot install Windows XP with drive overlay software. Upon checking it seems that some versions of overlay software don't work and others do, so check that link and see if it helps you get on the right track.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Western Digital has a diagnostic tool that will help you determine if you have a hard drive problem. It can be set-up on a bootable diskette and will check your hard drive regardless of how your HD is formatted... NTFS or FAT32.

    I recently had a WD hard drive failure that was causing problems in Windows XP and the diagnostic tool determined it was a Read Element Failure and I was able to get a replacement drive from WD on warranty.

    The diagnostic tool should be on the LifeGuard diskette you received with your drive... or you can download the current DLG Diagnostic from here.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    I'm now receiving an error: NTLDR is missing Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to restart. I thought I removed the DDO but it's still there.Do you think I can send this 6 month old drive back for a new one? Thanks...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    My advice is to get rid of the DDO. You will have to use the WD Data Lifeguard CD to remove the DDO.

    Then use the XP CD to repartition and reformat the HD using either FAT32 or NTFS. Drive overlays are a real pain in the rear as you are finding out.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Did you remove the DDO using the WD program?
    Trying to remove with another method will NOT remove the DDO completely.
    Retry with WD disk and repartition and format again.

    The Ntldr is really NT Loader and should be loaded at boot up.
    To correct the problem, the user must boot the computer with a Windows 95 or 98 Startup diskette or another bootable diskette with sys.com on it. Then, at the "A:>" prompt, type "sys c:" and press "enter." A "System Transferred" prompt should appear and then the user must reboot the computer without the diskette.
    More info on this is at MSKB 255220
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Where can I get a startup disk WIN 98 version for free?

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Try BootDisk.com, you should be able to find all manner of startup disks in any flavor you choose.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    I was going to suggest bootdisk.com but Mark beat me to it.
    You can also make your own by: ( from WIn 98 )

    Here's how to create a startup disk:
    Click Start
    Point to Settings and click Control Panel
    Click Add/Remove Programs
    Click the Startup Disk tab
    Click the Create Disk button
    When finished, click OK to exit the Add/Remove Programs Properties dialog box
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Well, after running an old WD diagnostics floppy diskette, I have a "Read Element Error" and am sending the drive back for another one. My only trepidation is the computer I'm using now has exactly the same hard drive--120gig WD and it's about 2 months newer than the one that fizzled out.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Some drives are lemons...just make sure you back your stuff up. There are two kinds of computer users: those who have lost all of their data, and those who will. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>
    -Mark

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Well, I have my new hard drive and now no. 2 son partitioned into 3 parts of 40meg instaed of 40 gigs.. Now I can't do anything. I run fdisk from a win98 setup disk in drive a .. Now 100% lost. From jumper settings to what cable to use to cable select. Now I'm getting "Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter" I'm ready to toss the whole thing out the window. Any ideas starting with the most basic?? And to think the old HDD ran perfectly well using XP until a read element failure.Thanks

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Did you format the new disk after using FDISK? Windows XP setup will also create and manage partitions as part of the setup process, if you boot with the CD.
    -Mark

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    The auto detect in the bios isn't detecting the drive. I'm not sure I have the right cable and jumper settings. When I boot from a Win98 setup disk and do fdisk, it says I need NT administrator.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't boot to HDD

    Without knowing what IDE devices are installed in your computer, I am going to assume that the new hard drive is the primary one. If that is the case, it needs to have the jumper set to Master. I personally hate CS (Cable Select) and never use it. If you attach another IDE device on the chain, it would be a Slave. You can have one master and one slave on each IDE cable connected to the motherboard. If you have two devices set the same, the BIOS will get confused.
    -Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •