Lounger
    Thanks

No Output (VB.NET)

Ignorance is not bliss. I'm a VB6 programmer from way back and am trying to build my first app using VB.net.

I've had to run the app in the command window in order to see my output. Does anyone know why I can't see the output in Visual Studio? The application builds in VS just fine, but when I try to execute it (Debug>>Start without debugging) all I see is the build info in the Output windows.

Now I've added database connectivity and I get errors in the build:

error BC30466: Namespace or type 'SqlClient' for the Imports 'System.Data.SqlClient' cannot be found.

I get a similar error everyplace I use one of the SQL objects:

error BC30002: Type 'SqlCommand' is not defined.

In order to get my app to run in the Command window, I had to add directories to my path, lib and include environment strings. I guess that I need to add the SQL directories to one or more of these but I don't know what I need to add and I haven't been able to find it on the web.

Any help would be appreciated. I've spent a couple of hours I don't have on this problem and am stuck until I can see my output.

Thanks in advance,

Mary

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Re: No Output (VB.NET)

.NET is really funny about references to certain "class libraries" (.NET Namespaces)

You'll need to be sure the proper namespaces are added as References to your project. You can probably solve your Sql issue easily by making sure the System.Data namespace is added as a reference. You may also consider adding "Imports System.Data" and/Or "Imports System.Data.SqlClient" at the top of each module in order to save typing within that module.

In order to get your output to write to the Output window, use System.Diagnostics.Debug.Write (or WriteLine). The only catch is that you have to be sure your application is running in Debug mode (as opposed to Release). All Debug-related code is ignored when compiling/running in Realease mode.