Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rennes, France
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Fellow loungers,
    ZoneAlarm (basic version) informed me this morning that updates were available. It appears that a new option for monitoring antivirus status has been added to the basic ZoneAlarm package (and that a bundled package of firewall/antivirus protection is now being offered on the ZoneAlarm site for $20). In any case, I downloaded the update and then applied it to my version of ZoneAlarm. Then I sent off a relatively heavy Word doc to a colleague. This is where the weirdness begins. I have Norton AV 2003 installed and have chosen to have the little progress window display to show the status of incoming and outgoing e-mail virus scanning. When I sent my doc. and mail nothing showed (by that I mean, no progress pane from NAV popped up) and I had the distinct impression that no virus scanning was taking place on the message since it zipped right out of the outbox (NAV tends to slow down the sending and receiving of mail, I've found, but that slight sluggishness is reassuring to me for the protection it provides). I've just sent the same document back and forth between different accounts and I show no status monitoring of e-mail antivirus scanning by NAV. I've clicked this option on and off in NAV and I've turned the antivirus monitoring option on and off in ZoneAlarm but nothing seems to calm my (deluded?) impression that ZoneAlarm might be interfering with NAV. This is just an impression I get. Perhaps the only real way to get an answer is to get a virus through the mail (and that shouldn't be long in coming). Does anyone else have similar experience? Am I being too paranoid? I've already tried going back to yesterday with system restore but that just zaps ZoneAlarm out of my system and I could reinstall the previous version but that means I have to train ZoneAlarm all over again for all of my programs. Perhaps this is a smaller price to pay than that of a possible infection? Any advice or similar experience would be appreciated.
    ATL

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    The chances of two separate pieces of antivirus software correctly processing messages are not large, and may depend on the order in which they are installed. Much such software seems to blithely assume that it is the only antivirus package installed, and so doesn't leave things in the correct state to allow subsequent processing of the message by another package.

    Only if "the one knows about the other" will things work well together (e.g. Norton Internet Security 2004 has a firewall and an antivirus component, which play happily together). [Not quite the same as having two antivirus packages, but I hope you see what I mean!]

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rennes, France
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Thanks John. I understand what you're saying. After other tests between computers here on my home network I just uninstalled the latest version of ZoneAlarm downloaded this morning and installed the previous version which I had saved from a previous update. I ran through the obvious programs and got it trained again but will undoubtedly have some security warnings come up in the days to come. NAV is working as before and I got a nice long scan on a heavy document sent between accounts. I'd be careful about downloading this update of ZoneAlarm if you're running other antivirus programs and not their new packaged bundle of firewall/antivirus.

    Tony

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 28-May-04 09:31. added URL code)</P>The new version 5.x of ZoneAlarm, both the Pro version and the free version, have serious problems with several antivirus programs, especially including anything from Symantec. This is true also for the Norton Anti-Spam product which just stops working when ZA 5.x is installed. This problem is getting a very lively discussion over on the Zonelabs forum, (http://forum.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/board?board.id=gen). In my own case, I had to uninstall ZA Pro to get Norton Antivirus and AntiSpam to start working again. Merely shutting ZA down did not do the the trick.

    This is a very serious problem for anyone who has upgraded their ZA product to the 5.x version. For now, I'm running without it and depending on my router and the (anemic) firewall that is part of WinXP Pro. However, I'm also looking for other firewall products.

    Frankly, this is a very disturbing issue and an example of very poor planning by Zonelabs. It is suggested in the ZA forum that since the company was sold, the new company wanted to get their mark on the product. Well, they sure as hell have done it!!

    --Bob Harris
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    I to had the same problem on the desk top, just removed 5 and installed 4.5.594.000 and all is back where it should be. Now the laptop and one client with a new machine needs to be restored.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Shows you how different system configurations react with some programs.

    I have Norton AV 2003 and ZA ver 5.xxx ( with the AV update check enabled ) and they are running fine. No apparent problems at all.
    AV update has reminded me that an update was available in Norton and sure enough there it was. Go figure !
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    I am running 2004 with the out bound scan.
    Are you scanning out bound email?
    If not set it up to scan and see if the POP up shows the email being scanned.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Dave,
    I am scanning outgoing mail but I've always had the progress indicator turned off in Norton av>options>advanced.
    I did turn it on and there was still no progress bar showing.

    I AM running ZA Pro Beta version, so don't know if there is a difference there or not.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    If you are NOT getting the POP UP in the lower right corner, on the out going then it is NOT scanning the out bound.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    I rolled back the ZA to V4.5.594 ( uninstall & re install including serious wipe of the reg ) and still not getting any pop up on outgoing email scan.
    You are getting this pop up now with 4.5.xxx ZA?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Rennes, France
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    This is exactly what happened to me after my original post. I had to go into the reg. and zap all instances of ZA because in my original moment of panic I stupidly used system restore. Things were so bad that an incoming NAV virus scan (visibly in conflict with ZA) caused everything to lock up and screwed up my router and network settings. I spent the morning cleaning ZA out of my system and get my network and router back in shape. I reinstalled ZA 4.5.594 and everything is now back to normal. What a massive waste of time. I can only agree with Bob Harris' sentiments.

    Tony

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    i did some pretty extensive testing with different combinations of Norton & ZA verisons 4 & 5.
    I found that the only way I could get outgoing popup checks to work was to not only uninstall V4 & 5, but then to regedit and search for ALL instances of ZoneAlarm & Zone labs and deleting them all from the reg. Rebooting and then installing version 4.5.9xx ( whatever it was ).
    All worked Ok with the outgoing pop ups from Norton. All other features also seem fine with Version 4.xx.

    My conclusion is that Version 5xx of ZA either hides the popups or does not allow checking of outgoing emails.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Hi Dave,
    Yes, that is the best solution. I have made the unpardonable error of purchasing the program a year or two ago, and doing my updates on line. Consequently, I don't actually have the 4.5.594.000 version saved anywhere. It is present on my wife's PC, but it's installed. I don't have the install file. So far I've not found it on Zonelabs site either. I'm really hoping they'll make it available, or tell me where it is, if it's still available, or fix this darned problem. I have friends that seek my advice from time to time. Some of these people are connected directly to the web through a DSL bridge and without a router. They are particularly vulnerable.

    I am unaware of any other software that is (was) as good as ZA.

    --Bob
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Bob

    I've had the Norton Internet Security 2004 package since the end of February, and am pretty happy with it. I've got a fairly fast box, and so the overhead isn't apparent. The great advantage (for me, IMHO, your kilometerage may vary, etc) is the integration of firewall and antivirus in one fairly seamless whole.

    With broadband the firewall is an absolute necessity - you'd be amazed how many naughty people seem to want to find out what's on my computer to "do things" to it! (Or perhaps you wouldn't...).

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm update and NAV compatibility

    Bob,
    It looks like ZA 4.5.594 is still available at: ZoneAlarm4
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •