Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    605
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    Good Morning,

    Could someone help me please? I have a drop down in D3 it is a Yes/No. If the user selects "Yes", I would like the the user to automatically be advanced to cell "C5", and the text in D5 become BOLD and RED, how can I accomplish this?

    Thanks in advance.
    Roberta Price <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    Select cell D5, and go to Format > Conditional Format

    In the left side, choose in the drop down "Formula is" and then in the box, put this:

    =$C$3="Yes"

    Then in the Format button, choose red and bold.

    For the movement to cell C5, I think, it would require a Change_Event code.

    This might work for you. Right click the tab name, and select View Code, then in upper left, select Worksheet,

    Code:
    Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    	If Range("C3").Value = "Yes" Then
    		Range("C5").Select
    	End If
    
    End Sub

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    Shades probably meant

    =$D$3="Yes"

    in the formula for conditional formatting. To create the event code:

    - Activate the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11)
    - In the Project Explorer, double click the item corresponding to the worksheet.
    - Copy the following code into the module that appears:

    Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Not Intersect(Target, Range("D3")) Is Nothing And Range("D3") = "Yes" Then
    Range("C5").Select
    End If
    End Sub

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    You're right, thanks. I had it in mind C3 all along. And of course, that is what I put into the formula and the code. The code was a quickie and it shows.

    Tough to change an old person!

    BTW, Hans, usually posting code with the
    Code:
     ...
    works to format on the post. But it doesn't work here. How is that done on this board?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    The Lounge uses <!t>[pre]<!/t> and <!t>[/pre]<!/t> tags. You can type them yourself or insert them from the 1-Click TagPanel. Text between <!t>[pre]<!/t> and <!t>[/pre]<!/t> is displayed in a fixed-width font, with indentation preserved, and with no line wrapping.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    Thanks

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    605
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Go To Cell (Excel 2000)

    Thanks you guys...it works perfectly!!!!
    Roberta Price <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •