Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    force 'text only' (word xp)

    Hi,

    I paste *allot* of stuff from web pages. Word pastes the selected portion with all the formatting, graphics, etc, the downloading of which takes up too much time. Smart tag then appears and I have to pick "keep text only" to get rid of formatting, graphics. I'd like to avoid these steps.
    How can I force Word to paste everything I choose, all the time, as text only?

    Thanks for any hints! : )

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    There is a good example Macro for this in <post#=356958>post 356958</post#>. You can attach this Macro to a right click context menu to make it easily available. Post back if you need more instructions.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    See Woody's Office Watch vol 6 no 45. It contains an article that describes step by step how to make Ctrl+V paste unformatted text.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    Thanks for the help. I made the macro according to Han's article. It works, so cool. : )
    Stuart's looks interesting, but more complex and I don't read vb script. How might it be different.
    I *am* interested in adding this macro to the right-click menu, how to go about doing that?

    wow. thnx, guys

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    Select Tools | Customize...
    Make sure that changes will be saved in Normal.dot, so that they will be available in all documents.
    Activate the Toolbars tab.
    Tick the Shortcut Menus check box.
    A toolbar with 3 items appears: Text, Table, Drawing.
    Click on Text. The menu that drops down contains all shortcut menus dealing with text. The main one is Text; expand it.
    You will see Cut, Copy, Paste etc.
    Leaving this shortcut menu open, activate the Commands tab of the Customize window.
    Select Macros in the list of Categories.
    Select your macro in the list of Commands and drag it to the shortcut menu.
    If you want to customize the new item, right click it. You can set the Name, i.e. the caption, set an icon, etc.
    Click OK in the Customize window when you're done.
    Now right-click somewhere in the text; you should see the new item.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    1. <LI>Go to Tools -> Customize
      <LI>Select the Toolbars tab
      <LI>Check the box marked "Shortcut menus"
      A small toolbar titled "Shortcut menus" should appear, generally near the top left of your screen. Don't close the Customize dialog yet.
      <LI>Press the "Text" button on the "Shortcut Menu" toolbar
      <LI>Select the "Text" submenu on the Text menu
      <LI>Now go back to the Customize dialog, and go to the Commands tab.
      <LI>In "Categories" select "Macros"
      <LI>In commands, find your new macro
      <LI>Click and drag the macro to the text shortcut menu
      You can also drag it to any other shortcut menus you'd like it on. You can also remove the "regular" paste from the shortcut menu.
      <LI>When you're finished, just close the Customize dialog; the Shortcut menus toolbar will close automatically.
    HTH,

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    awesome. thanks so much <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: force 'text only' (word xp)

    > How might it be different.

    Both scripts will do the same thing if the paste buffer contains something that can be pasted as Text. The more complex version will give a helpful message if the buffer has a graphic or something else that cannot be pasted as plain text, the simpler version will show a dialog box like this one, or will silently do nothing.

    StuartR
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.GIF (6.0 KB, 0 views)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •