Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cary, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrading from WFW

    I have been given an old Dell Latitude laptop with Windows for Workgroups 3.1 on it and asked to install w95, plus Word on it. The laptop doesn't have a CD-ROM drive, no network card, although we did find a PCMCIA card that seems to work intermittently, sometimes it sees the network,sometimes it doesn't. We do not have W95 on floppies. We tried to do a network install by sharing a Cd-ROM drive and it begins the install process on the laptop, then freezes. This laptop has 8MG RAM and a 250MB HD. I know it should be possible to do, does anyone have a secret for installing via a network?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    I would suggest that you forget it. You will have NOTHING but problems. Not enough RAM or disk space to run anything.

    Sorry.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    Don't give up hope. I have a Gateway Colorbook 486DX2-50 running Win95 and Word 6. 12MB ram and 730MB hard drive with DoubleSpace activated. Word 97 would probably run, but I never bothered to install. When I first installed/upgraded to 95, I found that it ran faster than 3.11.

    For another alternative, I have a (this is no "notebook") Toshiba T5100 Cyrix 386/486-20/40 upgrade processor, 100BM hard drive (upgraded from a 40), 4MB ram (the most it takes), and it runs Win3.11 and Word 6. With this configuration, it's pretty zippy even by today's standards, and my wife still uses it for word processing. It has the best keyboard I ever have used (desktop or laptop).

    The Gateway was upgraded to Win95 with floppies, but I installed other software using a parallel port CD-Rom or the network. Never had a problem. I can't imagine that my extra 4MB ram makes mine work and not yours.

    Try again. Let me know how you do. I'll try to help.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    I agree with DaveA, but...

    If you have access to another machine, you may be able to create Windows 95 floppies from the ROM. the CABS should be small enough to fit on a disk, and you may be able to find the specs (I.E. what file goes where) on the internet somewhere...

    I think I would take it and revert to the days of old.. find some interesting old DOS programs and tinker with it.. wouldn't dream of getting W95 on a machine with those specs.. 4MB of ram barely meets the min sys. req's for W95... Wouldn't be worth the trouble.. really...

    Hope that helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cary, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    Thanks for the feedback...We are going to try via a parallel port CD-Rom. It has now become a quest!! We won't give up hope. If anything, it will be a lesson. The owner of the laptop prefers not to outlay the money for another and would only use it for the word processing features of Word. So, we'll see if it flies and I will post an update about our final outcome. <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    This brings back memories!

    Yes it will work, after a fashion, but isn't really worth the effort. However it is your call.

    I'd love hear how you go, both short term and in, say 2 months.

    BOL.
    Granville

  7. #7
    pchristie
    Guest

    Re: Upgrading from WFW

    You can do it with the parallel port, just do a custom install. I have done it many times. Leave out everything, screensavers, templates, all the stuff you don't really need. Do a custom install for word also and you will have a good little word processing machine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •