Thanks

0 left margin OK? (Word 2002 SP-2)

I'm new to Word and reading advice from various sources. An article by John McGhie describes the use of negative indents for Headings as "unstable and fiddly" in Word. I hated the idea of having every paragraph indentation that I set in this kind of document be goofily misleading in the sense that the number would look like it was 0.5" or 0.3" (depending on how far left I wanted to shift the leftmost heading) more indented (in relation to the "real" left margin) than it actually was. So I started out ignoring McGhie's advice, but I've found, sure enough, that Word has a strong tendency to "reset" the indents of Heading styles that include negative indents.

On a break from gnashing my teeth and rending my garments, it occurred to me that my paragraph indent numbers wouldn't be as goofy if I set the left margin to 0" (rather than to the position of the leftmost heading). That way every paragraph style's left indent will be the distance from the left edge of the page, which I find a lot more intuitive and easy to work with than the distance from the leftmost heading. (It would also mean that adjusting the indentation of the leftmost heading wouldn't result in the need to either (1) adjust the left margin and the indentation of all other styles or (2) live with a document with a left margin that corresponds to nothing at all.)

My question is: Is there any reason to avoid setting the left margin to 0 (i.e., setting it outside the printable area of the page)? (Needless to say, all of my styles would include left indents that put them within the printable area.) In other words, does anyone know if doing this brings out more Word bugginess? Alternatively, are there one or more other downsides to this approach that might not occur to a Word newbie?

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: 0 left margin OK? (Word 2002 SP-2)