Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Norton Speed Disk

    I am running Windows 98SE and have Norton Utilities 2002. When I try to run Speed Disk it tries to scan Drive C but only gets to 30% before restarting. This happens over and over. I have no screensaver running and I have closed everything in the Close Program box with the exception of Explorer and Systray. If I ignore the attempts to scan Drive C and press the start button it tries to Optimize Folders but this just keeps restarting as well. Any Suggestions?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    If you set your virtual memory (swap size) to a fixed size rather than letting Windows manage it dynamically, the problem with Speed Disk is eliminated. The recommended swap file size is 1.5 times the amount of RAM on your system. For example, if you have 512 Mb RAM installed, set the minimum AND maximum swap file size to 768 Mb.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    I tried this but it made no difference. Speed Disk still repeats continually at 30%.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    The usual problem with defragmenters restarting is because a disk indexing service has cut in. It happens with the built-in defragmenter on Windows 98 also!

    Suggest you do Start => Settings => Control Panel => FindFast and then click on Index and then on Close and Stop. Then try rerunning SpeedDisk.

    Hope this works!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    I do not have FindFast on this system, it was disabled some time ago.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    I did say it was the usual problem!

    Have you tried the built-in defragmenter, to see if it has the same problem?
    Do you get any messages with SpeedDisk when it restarts?
    You might possibly try the suggestion in <!mskb=229057>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 229057<!/mskb>, if your problem might be screen-saver related...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Now you did say that you closed everything down so I would assume that includes the AV scanner, which, when active, can cause problems when trying to defrag.

    Have you tried a chkdsk operation. Again defrag can burp when there are file structure problems.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    No messages when Speed Disk restarts, just the progress in the bar at the top, which gets to 30% then restarts from scratch. I do not have a screensaver. I can run the WindowsDisk Defragmenter in safe mode, it is just so much slower than Speed Disk was. Perhaps I shall uninstall Norton Utilities and reinstall it and see if that helps.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Chkdsk does not run in Win98, you have to use Scandisk. I tried this but it, too, just kept checking the disk for errors for over two hours without ever completing so I gave up. Scandisk does, however, run properly after an incorrect shutdown.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Chkdsk can be run in Windows 98, but at the command prompt. Aside from that, did your hard drive come with any utility that can verify the health of the unit? For example, Western Digital has diagnostic tools that can verify the integrity of a hard drive. The tool can be placed on a bootable diskette using its own version of DOS and can run an extensive check.

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    If I try to run CHKDSK from the command prompt I get the following message. "CHKDSK has NOT checked this drive for errors. You must use SCANDISK to detect and fix errors on this drive" Then follows details of disk space , allocation units, memory etc and a further message "Instead of using CHKDSK, try using SCANDISK. SCANDISK can reliably detect and fix a much wider range of disk problems."

    This may be because my disk is FAT-32 formatted. And no, the disk does not have any proprietary utility.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Edited by Phil Rabichow because the first link does work (although you needed to take out linkURL at the end) & so the second one just makes the thread too wide. Also, I placed the second link on two lines, Bob. Hope you don't mind. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Found something on the Symantec site that describes your problem. Some of the situations discussed have not been covered in this thread. It is a long URL so hopefully this link will get you there.

    Cheers, Bob

    Edited to add: The auto link is too long for the Lounge to handle. Here is the actual URL. You'll have to do a cut-n-paste.

    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nunt....256aa30052353b/
    2ecb259c6b265d2388256996007945fb?OpenDocument&src= bar_sch_nam
    Regards,
    Bob

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Praha
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Run it in safe mode

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    I tried running it in Safe Mode as you suggested but got the error message "You have booted in Safe Mode. This program is designed to run in Normal Mode only."

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton Speed Disk

    Hi Phil

    Here is a suggestion to get the job done. It doesn't rely on NU and I've had success with it on some "stubborn" PCs before.

    GEODisk2 is the tool to solve your Scandisk and Defrag problems with Windows 98 and Windows ME. It has an all new user interface to simplify the process for you. GEODisk2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •