Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London, Middlesex, England
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    Dear WOPRs,

    We burned a DVD on PC 1.
    DVD Drive was Iomega's Super DVD drive.

    DVD (with data files) works on PC1's internal standard CD-Drive & also the external DVD-Drive.

    On PC 2, it doesn't work in it's internal or external HP CDWriter Drive.

    Any ideas why it works on one PC but not the other?

    TIA,

    BD.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    If you created a DVD, it will not work in any CD drive, only in another DVD drive. CD-ROM drives cannot understand the DVD format.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London, Middlesex, England
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    But it works on PC1's CD-Drive (which has a DVD logo, i.e. it PLAYS DVDs).

    PC2's drive is a Creative CD Player (also with the DVD logo, i.e. it PLAYS DVDs).

    How come?!

    BD.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    Perhaps we are fighting terminology to some extent here. It sounds as though each computer has a DVD drive, not a CD drive. That is an important point. Yet the disc you created, a DVD, will not work in PC 2, which has the Creative unit.

    I suspect it has to do with either the type of DVD (DVD +R/RW, DVD -R/RW) or the amount of light reflectivity from the disc itself. Can you attach the external DVD drive from PC #1 to PC #2 and read the data that way?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    What software did you use to burn this DVD?

    Is the disc a RW or a R type?

    And what is the burn speed 1X ,4X or what?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    London, Middlesex, England
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    Hi,

    Just to be 100% clear on the setup, I've attached a setup diagram with brief explanation.

    I'm using Iomega's own Hotburn software on a DVD-RW.

    BD.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Darkest Kent, UK., Kent, England
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    Afternoon Bob,

    ~In additon to the other bits of advice given above~

    I'm wondering if the problem here is similar to one I previously experienced when making the leap from Nero's InCD software to Nero Burning ROM (NBR). The discs I'd created using InCD weren't recognised by the same PC after I'd uninstalled InCD and installed NBR. Further investigation showed this to be because the method InCD uses to write to the disc is different to NBR, that is to say it writes to the disc in packets.

    If you've still got the installation CD, try installing the Hotburn software onto the destination PC and then trying to read from the disc. I'm up to my neck at the moment, but I'll have a look around the Iomega site later to see if I can shed any further light on this.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: DVD Disc doesn't work in other PC

    RW's may NOT be readable by another player until it has been closed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •