Thanks

Style in table cell & end marker (Word 2002 (SP-2))

I know there must be a simple answer to this one, but I'm new to Word and stumped.

I have a one-line paragraph that is entirely underlined (through direct formatting, not the paragraph's style). I copy the paragraph (including the paragraph marker in my copy). I paste the paragraph into an empty table cell, retaining the source formatting. So far, so good (the pasted text retains both its style and its direct formatting), but I've got a 2-paragraph cell -- i.e., the paragraph mark that I pasted is there, followed by the end-of-cell marker (with Table Grid as its style).

If I put the cursor to the left of the paragraph mark and delete it, my direct formatting (underlining) remains, but the text changes to Normal style.

On the other hand, if I put the cursor to the left of the end-of-cell marker and backspace, the text retains its style (and the end-of-cell marker appears to take on that style as it moves up to the end of the paragraph), but the direct formatting (underlining) is deleted.

How do I retain both the style and direct formatting of the source but avoid having both a paragraph mark and end-of-cell marker in the cell?

Thanks

Re: Style in table cell & end marker (Word 2002 (SP-2))

Try not copying the end-of-paragraph mark on your source paragraph.

Added: Sorry, you want to retain the style, too. No time to play with this now, maybe tonight.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

What interesting behaviour. The issue is that the cell marker needs to be altered to match the style of the paragraph that you are pasting.

If you paste your paragraph into the table cell and then immediately cut it out and paste it back again then it behaves the way you want, but I can't see any way to automate this short of a macro.

StuartR

Super Moderator
    Thanks