Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Force a new Default Font across the Network (2003)

    Our company has made an organization-wide Style change. We're now using Arial as the default Font.

    Obviously, we know how to set this for a single User, but is there a way to get Word to 'Update Default Template from Additional Objects Template', as per WordPerfect?

    I assume I can create a Template and save it to a Network Folder, then change each user's Statrup Folder to point to this, but how do I ensure that they can't override it by clicking the DEFAULT button in the Font Dialog Box?

    Thanks for your advice. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Force a new Default Font across the Network (2003)

    Any solution that makes wholesale replacements of templates would be a problem in my organization. I would be tempted to test something along these lines: adding a command to the login-script that would run Word, pointed to a particular template with some auto-run code to update the Normal style in the user's Normal.dot template. But this is just a concept, and there might be other styles to fix, too.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Force a new Default Font across the Network (2003)

    You mean like xcopy H:ITnormal.dot "Cocuments and Settings%username%Application Data, etc"

    Good idea!

    Thanks [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Force a new Default Font across the Network (2003)

    xcopy would completely replace the existing file, right? That wouldn't work here. The alternative is to create some "installer code" that you can run using a startup switch. I think it would be along these lines:

    winword.exe /tinstaller.dot

    but of course paths would need to be supplied. The installer would have to close Word as its last step. Perhaps more work than is needed in your organization?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •