Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Hi all,

    When trying to download some drivers, I discovered that IE5 on my computer does not connect to the wanted FTP site. I am using Zonealarm as a firewall. (I am using ADSL.)

    Is there a certain flow I can/must follow to determine the problem, or is it just a setting I overlooked ?

    Any hint is most welcome (as I cannot download pictures from my digital camera until I have the drivers).

    MTIA

    Walter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Is this an FTP link directly to a file, or are you trying to navigate through folders? IE has some kind of built-in FTP navigation features, but I'm not sure how well they work. If you have a direct link to an EXE or ZIP, does it help to right-click it and Save Target?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    It's a direct link to a ZIP-file. The URL is ftp://AWKeF73MF5:aBE8fC17@ftp.nikon-euro..../Win-Driver.zip

    I tried the "Save target as" but that does not work either. The dialog screen doen not show any activity.

    I'm getting desparate.....

    Any more things I could try ?

    Best regards,

    Walter

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    When you attempt to down load, what happens?
    You posted that it will not connect, but nothing else.

    I have tried your posted ftp address and it works for me, in IE 6.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    When I just click on the link on the Nikon-site, I get a new window . I know it is in Dutch, but I think you know the screen. This IE windows stays open until it gives an error. See screen print : some translation : Screen title : cannot find server; Screen itself : The page cannot be displayed. The page you are looking for is not available ....

    Hopefully this rings a bell ?

    Best regards,

    Walter
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Link also works fine for me in IE6.
    Have you considered upgrading to IE6?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    I too am using ZoneAlarm and have sometimes have had the same trouble with FTP sites, but decreasing the security level of ZA in Internet Zone from high to medium (just while accessing the FTP site) has usually worked for me. Have you tried that?

    Fafner

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Do you have Passive mode enabled? Tools | Internet Options | Advanced then make sure 'Use Passive FTP' is checked. Close and restart IE.
    Also, have you tried using an FTP client? You could even use the built in MS client in DOS/Command line mode.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Remember the security flap about @ signs in URLs? I think there was a "fix" for that, and one of its side effects was to create problems for URLs that used this method of authentication (putting the credentials before the hostname, separated by an @ sign). Because other users report being able to access the file, I wonder whether there was a fix for the fix that came out later, and maybe you haven't installed it? Could you try Windows Update and see if there are any patches that might be relevant?

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    I have a dutch version of Windows 98 SE, so IE is also in dutch. Could you make a screenprint of the setting, so that I can figure out which one this is in my dutch version ?

    How does this built in MS client work ? Could you show me ?

    Thanks and best regards,

    Walter

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Walter,
    Here's the IE options page. Good luck with it.

    Joe
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Joe

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Walter,
    As far as the FTp client goes:
    1.) Open a DOS window
    2.) Type in "FTP ftp.nikon-euro.com" (without the apostrophes). Then Hit Enter.
    3.) Type in AWKeF73MF5 as the userid. Hit Enter.
    4.) Type in aBE8fC17 as the password. Hit Enter.
    5.) Type in "CD Software/Dy4AebOVBWv2kBg" (without the apostrophes). Hit Enter.
    6.) Type in LS. Hit Enter. You should see Win-Driver.zip listed.
    7.) Type in Get. Hit Enter. Then follow the prompts.

    Good luck!!!!
    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    As a footnote, I've had reasonable luck using batch files with the command-line FTP in Windows 2000/XP. I've only used these to upload, because I had to upload 50 files at a time. To download, you'd create a simpler file. Here's an example:

    <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=6 border=1 bordercolor=black><td>File name:</td><td>c:ftp_get.txt</td><td valign=top>Contents:</td><td>AWKeF73MF5
    aBE8fC17
    cd Software/Dy4AebOVBWv2kBg
    binary
    get Win-Driver.zip</td></table>
    Sample FTP session:

    <pre>C:>ftp -s:ftp_get.txt ftp.nikon-euro.com
    Connected to ftp.nikon-euro.com.
    220 nlih30117514-03 Microsoft FTP Service (Version 5.0).
    User (ftp.nikon-euro.comnone)):
    331 Password required for AWKeF73MF5.

    230 User AWKeF73MF5 logged in.
    ftp>
    ftp> cd Software/Dy4AebOVBWv2kBg
    250 CWD command successful.
    ftp> binary
    200 Type set to I.
    ftp> get Win-Driver.zip
    200 PORT command successful.
    150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for Win-Driver.zip(8203021 bytes).
    226 Transfer complete.
    ftp: 8203021 bytes received in 352.79Seconds 23.25Kbytes/sec.
    ftp> close
    221
    ftp> quit</pre>

    close and quit were typed manually after the lengthy wait for the download to complete.

    It's an option for those who prefer to copy and paste messy username and password strings. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Joe,

    The "Use passive FTP" option is not in my IE. On the info-screen it says : 5.00.2614.3500.
    Could it be that I have a slightly outdated version ? <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    The only item that refers to FTP is : "Use FTP through the web" (this my translation from the dutch text). I have tried this option ON and OFF, but it gave no difference.

    I will have to give your next message a try.

    Walter

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Kontich, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No FTP in IE5 (IE5)

    Joe

    I tried the built in MS client as you indicated.
    This one works for me.
    I managed to download the file.

    Thanks !! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    Walter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •