Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    I've got a database that keeps generating "The Microsoft Jet database engine stopped the process b/c you and another user are attempting to change the same data at the same time." every time it's loaded on a Novell server.The message is poping up repeatedly even when only one person is working on the database from their WinXP machine. The database fine on another network and on the local machines, but as soon as it's loaded to their Novell server's shared drive it gets corrupted.

    I'm trying to figure a way around using the shared drive until they can have their IT guy figure out what's going on. I was thinking I'd use replication but need to figure out a way to sync the database remotely. Any ideas or other work arounds you can think of?

    E

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Leuven, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    322
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by hasse on 09-Jun-04 14:57. added additional third question in the end)</P>E,
    I Googled the error message and got a hit at dbForums - Jet engine stopped process b/c more than one user... pointing at *memo fields* as a possible cause.
    Further, I dunno if it's really relevant, but anticipating to others that might better help you than I can:
    - did you split up your database in a front and back end?
    - did you use any record locking?
    - did it already happen when you used the database in that environment for the first time, so you're sure there's no possible corruption due to another cause?
    Hasse

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    Since only 2 people are working on it and the database is still being developed I've not split it front end and back end.

    I ran into that same message I think on dbForum. I've replaced memo fields with text fields and deleted the memo field. I've compacted and repaired. I've imported all objects into a new database.

    I'm not having any trouble working on it on a local drive and the end user is not having trouble as long as it's on a local drive.

    The database get uploaded to an internet server at the end of the day. I download it in the evening, work on it and then upload it in the morning. I regularly create a blank database and import all the objects.

    It started producing that error on Friday. All computers are WinXP with Access 2000 running Jet 4 SP8. Record locking is turned off.

    Don't know if this info suggests any possibilities.

    E

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Leuven, Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Posts
    322
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by hasse on 09-Jun-04 15:46. )</P>Hi, E,
    I think you gave all info one could ask for - unfortunately I can't bring you any further <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19> except maybe...
    FWIW as I'm not an expert & I'm still working with Access 97... remembering a tip by HansV in an old thread <!post=Re: Multi user problems...,168409>Re: Multi user problems...<!/post>: does the problem still occur when you split & convert the front to an mde-file?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    You would be better off putting local copies of the front end on each machine and linking them to a single backend on a shared drive, even during development. If a single user sometimes gets it, it is probably related to the way you have your forms and subforms designed, or the queries behind them. For instance, if the same table is being updated by both a parent form and a subform, it can happen. Or if you modify data on the form/subform and then try to manipulate the form's recordset in code, you're liable to run into this.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    You certainly would. That's the reason I mentioned them.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    Charlotte,

    Would I be getting the error for the two reasons you mentioned if a single person was working on the database on their local drive? Or, is it only if it's on a server that it would generated the errors?

    I think I'm safe on the recordset issues. The only time the recordset is used is in find record unbound combo boxes and on closing quick data entry forms used to add new value to lookup combo boxes.

    Just double checked all the forms/subforms. In each form/subform combination the underlying tables don't overlap except for the PK/FK linkage. So, I'm apparently OK there too.

    E

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    That's what I thought. As I mention, the only time the errors are generated is when the database is on the shared drive. As long as the database is not placed on the shared drive it works like a charm.

    It sure looks like the culprit might not be Access at all but the shared drive. It was put into place for this database. They didn't use one before and they are only using it now for the db and Word merge documents. It does funky stuff.

    When it was first in use, placing the db in it made the db read only. Now only one of the users is able to successfully delete old db files. From the other users machine, the files appear to be deleted until you reopened the folder and then they are back. Attempting to move any of the databases off the shared drive generates a message that they are in use even when no one even has Access open.

    If you have to guess based on the behavior I've described, how likely do you think it's an Access issue?

    E

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    One other possibility, if you have any object in an unsplit database open in design mode in Acesss 2000 and up, Access tries to lock the database for exclusive use. That would cause problems similar to what you describe. That's one of the reasons we went to Source Safe for all developements when multiple developers were working on a project when we upgraded to 2000.
    Wendell

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    Charlotte nailed it. Two subforms were adding data to the same table.

    E

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    I think I confused you. What I meant was that you certainly would see some of those problems on a local installation, not just on a server. The behavior you're describing with files being locked sounds more like a permissions issue on the shared drive than an Access problem.
    Charlotte

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    I have started getting the error on a local installation of the database, so apparently the issue is related to how I've structured the database. I've been searching based on Charlotte's leads but I'm not finding the problem. I'm so stuck and so frustrated...

    I'm hoping with the following information, someone can help me pinpoint the location

    Steps to produce the error:

    :pen frmConsumer
    ::enter "Gary Stelt" in Find Consumer which triggers the NotInList event
    ::close the data entry form that opens without making any additional changes (it pulls the name from the Find Consumer combo box on frmConsumer)
    ::enter "Ranklin Country Club" in Organizational affiliations combo box in the fsubAddrWk subform control which triggers the NotInList event opening another data entry form frmOrgEnter
    ::add "42134" in the zip box on it's subform and close the data entry form which returns you to the main form
    :n the main form, tick Newsletter
    ::then select "Wk" in Hm/Wk, "Voice" in Type and enter "7205688565" as phone on the fsubPhone

    ::enter "Mary Stelt" in Find Consumer
    ::close the form that opens without making any changes
    ::enter "Danklin Country Club" in Organizational affiliations...
    ::tick Newsletter
    ::select "Wk" in Hm/Wk, "Voice" in Type and enter "2705688565" as phone

    you will now see errors in Hm/Wk, Type, Phone and Ext with the message:

    The Microsoft Jet database engine stopped the process because you and another user are attempting to change the same data at the same time.

    Note: it takes the repetition of process of adding a new consumer and new org with Mary Stelt to produce the error.

    forms used.................data sources.....Primary or foreign keys
    frmConsumer.............tblConsumer.....PK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubAddrHm.............tlkpAddrHm.............F K-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubEmail..................tlkpEmail........... .......FK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubPhone.................tlkpPhone............ .....FK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubOrg.......................tblConsOrg....... .......FK-lngConsumerID
    frmConsumerEnter.....tblConsumer.....PK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubAddrHm..............tlkpAddrHm............. ..FK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubEmail...................tlkpEmail.......... ....... .FK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubPhone..................tlkpPhone........... .......FK-lngConsumerID
    ...fsubOrg.......................tblConsOrg....... .........FK-lngConsumerID
    frmOrgEnter..................tblOrg............... ...PK-lngOrgID
    ...fsubAddrWk...............tblAddrWk .................FK-lngOrgID

    I know it's way above and beyond, but if anyone has the time/inclination to take a look at the database, it's Error2 posted on www.filesanywhere user name: elsuwi password: XLiLGs

    Got my fingers crossed, E

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    You indicate you're triggering successive Not in List events without actually adding the record then continuing to enter data. That makes me wonder how you have this set up. Even though you aren't "changing" anything in the popup forms, it sounds like the records are still being created. Also, you show the FK for tables like tlkpPhone as being lngConsumerID, but you don't indicate what the PK is for that table. Is lngConsumerID (the foreign key) also the PK or those tables, or part of the PK? What's the reason for two different address tables, one for work and one for home? Is that just an attempt to avoid this error? The names of some of your tables (i.e., tlkpAddrHm) would seem to indicate that these are lookup tables, yet from the description, you are entering active data into those tables. Is this, in fact, the case?
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    re: successive Not in List events without actually adding the record then continuing to enter data.
    The first NotInList opens frmConsumerEnter and pushes the text you typed in the combo box and places it in the FName and LName fields on the form creating a new record. The same thing happens with the second NotInList; the organization name you typed that triggered the NotInLIst event gets pushed into the Name control of the data entry form.

    re: tlkp
    Several of my tlkp tables are mistakenly prefixed with tlkp, they hold active data and will be renamed later in the development process.

    re: primary keys
    the primary key for AddrHm, Phone, and Email tables are all incrementing autonumber fields

    re: Address tables
    I really really struggled with how to do the addresses. I wanted to allow for the possibility of multiple home addresses for the same consumer and multiple work address for the organization, so I placed the addresses in separate tales. I wanted to keep all addresses in one table but including foreign keys for both ConsumerID and OrgID made for some tangles in table relationships and also meant I'd been accessing the same address table from multiple open forms/subforms which seemed like a bad idea.

    I've gotten the suggestion that the problem lies in using the NIL to create new records in a data entry form with the original form open OR that I'm creating a work address for an organization while adding a new organization. Would you lean toward one or the other as the more likely?

    E

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: network corruption (A2k WinXP)

    <hr>the primary key for AddrHm, Phone, and Email tables are all incrementing autonumber fields<hr>
    This means that if you "push" the data into other fields, the PK is automatically created and unless you have provided for a cancel routine to undo the record, it will be saved when you exit the subform. If the fields on the popup form are bound, you create the record without doing anything except opening the form. Without knowing how the form and the popups interact, it's hard to figure out where the conflict might be occurring. However, the usual place I start is to look for recordset manipulation in code of the same table that is being edited through the form interface. In other words, if you allow the user to populate a record on the form and use VBA to write to the same recordset without doing a RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord first, you will get the conflict.
    Charlotte

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •