Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Bootup Dialing?

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bootup Dialing?

    My wife has a WinMe machine that has been behaving itself fine, now suddenly it's decided that every time it boots up it should dial out. I can't see anything in the usual startup locations (Start menu, bat files, windows/run - - -) that should do this. The virus def's are up to date and I've run Symantec's Sasser tool on it and came up with nothing.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Try <post#=280939>post 280939</post#> and <post#=267574>post 267574</post#> . Also, this Microsoft Knowledge Base Article.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Thanks, I'll check these out but it will take a while, we'll be out of town.
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hollywood, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Hi,

    My friend had an identical problem on his Laptop a few days ago (although he is running XP on his machine). We found that he had a Virus called "Myss.B". His virus scanner picked it up but perhaps it slipped past yours. If you go to the Symantec Website at http://www.delrina.com/avcenter/venc/data/...jan.myss.b.html they give detailed instructions for cleaning it out of your machine. You may have something entirely different but the Symantec site will tell you how to check for it in your registry.

    Hope this helps. Good luck.

    Blackdog

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Are you running a firewall ?? If not, I recommend ZoneAlarm. That would tell you what it is that is trying to get out and also allow you to stop it from getting out. You appear to have acquired some type of Trojan, worm, browser hijacker or virus. It will need to be identified and removed. I would also recommend that you download and install Ad-Aware and SpybotS&D. Update and run both and let them fix what they find. Then see if your new friend is still around, and post back.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Doc,

    Depending on the bootup order, ZoneAlarm might not stop the culprit. At least, that was my problem--the dialup window appeared before ZoneAlarm.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    I believe the system must finish loading before it can actually make the connection to the internet. The dialer could start to establish the connection, but ZA would load and pickup the connection attempt before it made contact and report the attempt and ask permission to connect. Worst case, it would detect the activity after it loaded and report it to you.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Doc,
    I not sure that is correct. One of the fixes in XP SP2 is to have the Windows Firewall come into play much earlier to close a short window of vulnerability when the network connections are available but a firewall has not yet been activated. Network connections are initialized and enabled rather early in the boot process. So, I doubt that ME is doing something different and more secure than XP. You'd really need something akin to Bootvis to check out the whole boot process and load order to be sure.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Startup Delay is another possibility, especially since Bootvis is intended for XP.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    I know that Bootvis is for XP. I was just referring to a tool to allow you to monitor the bootup process. I can't remember if there is a Win9x/ME comparable tool available. Startup delay does not allow visibility of the whole boot process. It is a good tool to control the load order for user programs. There are many other pieces that get loaded well before any of the startup items are initiated.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Joe,

    Of course, you are correct. Don't know what I could have been thinking <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22> !!! If that were true there would be no need for all these neat & <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> tools.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    The thing that is lacking in these tools is that you really don't see the boot process as your do with Bootvis. With most of these tools you only see the 'normal' startup locations not some of the more obscure ones you see with something like Autoruns from Sysinternals. Even then you don't see the load order and how Windows initializes devices and networks. And maybe most important how your PC is responding to all the activity during startup. All that extra information is required to really tell what is happens during the boot process.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23> Sorry.... information overload !!! <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45> That's just a bit too much for me Joe. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19> For everyday computing, I think knowing the boot order and being able to control it to some degree is enough. If I've got a problem or simply want toget more technical then I think the other tools that give the user more detailed information are called for. Otherwise, it's just too much data for the old cabesa !! <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Bootup Dialing?

    Agreed Doc. Most of the time those 'boot managet' type products are sufficient. The only time(s) you need that level of detail is 1.) if you are trying to optimize the boot process, 2.) if you are trying to diagnose an attack, or 3.) you are trying to analyze vulernability before something bad happens.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •