Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: wytek modem

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,245
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    wytek modem

    need a driver for this modem 56k usb external for win 2k prof

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wytek modem


  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,245
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wytek modem

    ok. i have up date the driver but the velocity of mine conn is 26.4 (on guaranted speed 56k from ISP).
    My dubt is because i have also a ADSL connection on this line? But i have insert a ADSL filtre on every connector on all jack phone( Boh!)

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wytek modem

    <hr>...guaranted speed 56k from ISP... <hr>
    Lots of luck! Never happen, i.e. 56K

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wytek modem

    Another site you may want to check is also in Italian but it looks like there is a lot of info there.

    Wytek Modem
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: wytek modem

    I wonder if the ADSL filter on the line reduces the quality of the voice circuit enough to make a noticable difference to modem speeds. I've never checked this but it wouldn't surprise me.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wytek modem

    Stuart,
    Good question. Never really checked it either but I wouldn't think so since dial up modems operate more in the "voice frequency" rather than the higher DSL range. It probably depends more on how sharp ( narrow band ) the filters are that are being used. Never looked at the specs on them.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: wytek modem

    In the U.S., a guaranteed 56K line is called a "frame relay" service and is connected through a router, not a modem. As far as I know, it is not possible for a DSL service and a frame relay service to share the same line, you would have two separate lines assigned by the phone company.

    If you have a dial-up account using a 56K modem on the ISP end, it is very rare that you will get a connection speed of 56K. The best I've seen is 48K, and 33K or even 26K is common. (I only use the dial-up service when traveling, so the quality of the phone lines is very variable.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •