Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Sygate update

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Sygate update

    Sygate Personal Firewall Std & Pro 5.5.2577 has been released. This fixes a vulernability recently report in the press. Links for d/l can be found at
    Sygate Product Forum

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    Posting this here, rather than <!post=in this thread,383494>in this thread<!/post> which was really about ZoneAlarm. Continuing my switch, I download from the SPF download pages last night and installed without a hitch this morning. The strange thing is that the download brought Version 5.5 Build 2525 rather than the latest. After installation and reboot and the usual litany of permission-asking, I asked SPF to check for updates and got a message saying that none was available. (Exactly as used to happen with ZA.)

    After following YOUR link above, and running that SPF.MSI file I now DO have version 5.5 Build 2577 and I wonder if this is a continuing problem. How did you discover the link you provided above, Joe? (And Thanks, by the way!)

    Someone here in The Lounge said awhile back that the Sygate GUI was "clunky," so I must be too tolerant. It isn't a bad user interface, in my opinion - much better than ZA.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    BigAl,
    First, you're quite welcome. Good to see things went reasonably well.
    Second, I just went to Sygate Product Forums - Announcements. Looked at the release announcement and follewed the link in it.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    Thanks Joe, I've added that link to my bookmarks. It was kinda funny during the initial running of Sygate. As I said, I had the usual onslaught of first-time access queries from Sygate, including the entries in my Startup process. One of those is a clock-synch program called About Time. Evidently About Time was much faster at trying to synch my clock than I was with the "approval" to Sygate! As I look in my Sygate log now for what got blocked, there are about four URLs, like NASA, that Sygate blocked.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Franklin, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    BigAl, are you running anything Norton with SyGate? Are they good players?
    Kris

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    No, I'm one of those anti-Norton bigots, like some folks are about McAfee AV or ZoneAlarm firewall. Ever since Peter Norton sold out way back and they began to grow and grow the "suite" concept, I got tired of trying to control what the whole shebang does. Except for Office, I prefer to stay with single-function apps as much as possible.

    However, keep your eyes on this thread. There are others her who love the Norton stuff. Maybe someone else can answer your question.

    Edited by Bigaldoc to add: I just noticed that in <!post=your thread,383064>your thread<!/post> here, there IS a post by WyllyWylly that indicates SystemWorks and Sygate do OK together.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    BigAL,
    I agree wholeheartedly about Symantec. At work, we had a terrible interaction with their 'product support' people a couple years ago and as a result decided we will never buy another Symantec product again. I still have a text file on the desktop of a server saying that Symantec support will return our call Thursday. The file was created Wednesday January 30, 2002. And no, I'm not holding my breath (anymore <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15> ). I also decided that personally I'll abstain from anything having the Symantec brand on it. That means when I decide that Drive Image needs an update I'll be looking for something else - but that's for another day.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    Guess that the blocked URLs were alternate time servers that got tried automatically and very quickly. I don't know about you but I'm having a tougher and tougher time remembering everything all the programs can/should/might do that get started on a boot.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    Yeah, and it gets tougher when there are several trusted programs like PC-Cillin and others that I've told to check for updates on their own.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    Joe,
    When you are ready to change Drive Image, Check out Acronis at TRUE IMAGE
    I had Drive Image at one time and changed to True Image because of some problems with DI. I'm glad I did.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    I'll second the recommendation for True Image.

    I installed it about a month ago and am just getting familiar with the program, but already find I like it much better than DriveImage. And I'm not Anti-Symantec (little play on words <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>). I use Norton AV too. I had DriveImage on my system (still do) and never had any problems creating the images. Never had occasion to restore one either, so I can't say there were no problems, just that I didn't have any. I got True Image, because of all the positive things I had been reading in the press and here in the Lounge about it. The interface is cleaner and easier to use and it is much more flexible from the little I've seen so far.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    Thanks both Bob & Doc. True Image is on my list. I'm not having any problems with DI. I'm trying to put off any investment in new hardware or software until there's a much firmer time frame for Longhorn. So, I'd guess at least a year from now maybe eighteen months - not for the Longhorn release but just to know what the requirements are going to be.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate update

    I'd like to ask one of you dedicated Sygate users a question. As I've said, my switchover went smoothly and when I first booted with Sygate, I went through the usual startup woes of allowing all my trusted software, i.e. browser, AV, clock synch, etc. etc. So everything is cool. I've noticed in the Sygate logs for the past two days that there is INCOMING traffic from an IP address 63.240.76.4 and it is being "allowed" by Sygate and I don't know what that IP address is. It backtraces to ns6.attbi.com. When I look at the Sygate log, this entry shows up as UDP protocol and I get these hits every 30 minutes or so. The log also shows the application name as NDISUIO.SYS in the Windows drivers directory. The last entry in the log says: "Ask all running apps." Does anyone know what the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> this entry is and why I get it every half hour or so? BTW, even after changing to cable internet recently, GRC.COM's Shields Up says I'm still in "stealth mode."

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    Hey Al,

    I don't use Sygate, but I did a little Googlin' around and found some info that may help you here, here and here. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    BTW - I don't think you're a jerk. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate update

    Who's your ISP? If you have a dynamic IP address, could be just checking to see if your machine is alive.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •