Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Last evening, Netscape (6.2) started getting "<font color=blue>netscp6.exe has created errors and will be shut down by Windows"</font color=blue> I thought that maybe I had done something "illegal", because it started again and seemd to go all right. I did not realize that my wife's machine was also generating the same problem I run Win 2K on my machine and she has Win98. So I did some investigation - retrieved that latest virus signatures, did a complete scan of both machines. Removed Netscape from the Win2K machine and reinstalled it, etc, etc. - rebooted my machine and the network modem - same problem. This time I noticed that my ISP's Home Page would come up okay, but when I went to another page and then tried to return to the home page by clicking on the <Home> button, I got the fatal error. My ISP's help desk is less than useless (As long as your connection is working... <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>) They are trying to tell me that the problem is with Netscape, yet, could someone explain to me how the same problem can occur on two different machines running different OS's and have it be a Netscape problem - particularly when these problems are occurring at the same time. I also did a "Released" and "Renew" for my IP address.

    I feel that when I click on the <Home> button, their server is sending back code that is causing Netscape to generate the error.

    Any insight, or suggestions, that anyone would offer are greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,

    Ron M. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    I suspect that something in the page you are viewing is causing the crash. Can you view a different website without problem?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Yes, I can view all and any other web pages without a problem. It is when I click on my <Home> button to return to the Home page after its initial display, that I get the problem and the "error" message. As long as I do not return to my home page, I can browse at will.

    Ron M

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    How about going into Preferences in Netscape and change the Home page (albeit temporarily) to someplace else like some newsy page such as CNN or some such. If the problem goes away at least you'd have some further ammunition to discuss with your ISP.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    I was going to make a suggestion similar to Al's. It seems that there is some code in their page that Netscape 6 does not agree with. Could you provide a URL for us to look at?

    Also, have you considered using FireFox as your browser instead? Same code base as Netscape 6, perhaps you would get different results...
    -Mark

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Big Al and Mark - already there, set up Google as my home page, but never thought of a newsy one <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>. I could set up Canada's national newspaper, or even on of my local TV stations, they always have lots of newsy stuff and good links. Great thoughts guys. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    (Don't you just love this place!! I got better advice in a few hours than I would ever get from my ISP's Help desk <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>

    Cheers,

    Ron M <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Mark, the URL is http://www.mytelus.com/home_page.html

    Decided to set up one of the local TV station's web site as the home page. They have local news and provide links to current sites etc. Great suggestion Big Al. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    Cheers,

    Ron M <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    I made that link my Home page for my Mozilla 1.6 and did a bit of browsing here and there, returning to Home after each visit to the hinterlands. No hangups on my machine. Will be waiting to hear how you make out with a different Home page.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Big Al. I made one of the local TV stations my home page http://www.cfcn.ca and everything works fine. No problems. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> Interesting that you can get there with your Mozilla. I can get there with Internet Explorer, but would rather not use it because of the security concerns. Thanks <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> for your help with this. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    Cheers,

    Ron M <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    P.S. FYI This version of Netscape (6.2) runs Mozilla 5.0 and Gecko20011019. Not exactly sure what the implications are...

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Ron, I'm sure you've heard or read about the problems that many people had (have) with the 6.x versions of Netscape, so you really would be better off taking either Mark's advice or mine and jumping to Firefox or Mozilla. Failing that, you could upgrade to Netscape 7.x and see if it's better. I haven't kept up with it as I did with previous versions, so I don't know if people have major problems with it. I've only done two or three installs of 7.0 and haven't heard any bad feedback.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Thanks Big Al, but no, I had not heard about people having problems with the 6.x versions of Netscape. Thanks for the info. Personally, I have never had any problems until now and then it is only with my current ISP's home page. I would move to Netscape 7.x, but my ISP does not yet support it <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> - go figure. Actually, I am really unhappy with the technical support from my ISP and will be looking into changing it. The last problem that I had with them, when the Lounge was implemented back in January, they insisted on saying that the problem was my browser, or the Lounge's, neither of which were true. I took me a month to have someone admit that their DNS servers were not updating properly. They gave me a different one and lo and behold, it all worked. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    Cheers,

    Ron

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    Hi Al and Mark. I did what you suggested and installed Firefox 0.9 and <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> IT WORKS. <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> (Neat browser) My ISP does not support it, but what the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>, they really do not provide adequate support for Netscape. Apparently, as I found out, some versions of Netscape, including 7.1, do not like pages with lots of Java Scripting on them, so maybe that was the problem. The error on Win '98 machine was caused by JS3250.dll. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

    Thanks to all for the help.

    Ron M <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Terminal Browser errors (Netscape 6.2)

    In a manner of speaking, ISPs don't really "support" any browsers - they just claim they do. Well, I'm glad things are looking UP for you and wish you luck with Firefox.

    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/S/sailing.gif alt="May You Have Smooth Sailing" title="May You Have Smooth Sailing" > <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/S/thumbup.gif alt="Good Luck" title="Good Luck" >

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •