Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    a065tot
    Guest

    Modem / Comm Ports

    I am assisting a friend with a new machine and a total modem failure. Any ideas would be great.

    Basically, the internal modem installed correctly in Win98 and reported OK in Device Manager. But, nothing would tap it (DialUp, HyperTerm, etc.) To make sure it wasn't dead, it was deinstalled and removed. Then I took my external modem (which I know works) and installed it. Same thing. Then I noticed that the external did not flash its lights during POST and bootup. After running diagnotics through me Modem applet, Windows is not "talking" the the port at all. I repeated deinstall and install over to Comm2. Same thing.

    Is there any way to test the Comm subsystem? It would seem that it is inoperative altogether. There used to be a load of DOS programs to do this in the pre-Windows days.

    Thank you in advance for your help. Gary

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    As I've converted to (paid for) Norton's Utilities I've lost touch with the freebies. However, I do remember something called HWDIAG, either a .exe or .com. Not sure it was free to use.

    I'll check through my CDs when I get a chance, but you may also find it on the Net. Let me know if you do so I can stop looking. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Granville

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    I found HWDIAG, it is a .exe, but don't think it will do what you want. It reports on the settings in the Registry on Resources, Drivers and VxDs.

    Sorry haven't found anything to test the actually hardware itself, as yet. <img src=/S/blank.gif border=0 alt=blank width=15 height=15>
    Granville

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Is this a Winmodem? If not, you can just open a dos box and type the following (without the quotes)
    "atdt > com2" (replace com2 with com1 or whatever com number you are on.) You should hear the modem click open the phone line. "ath > com2" should close the line. "atz > com2" will reset the modem. If this is a winmodem and a com port is assigned, you will be able to do the same thing. If this is a winmodem and a comport is not assigned, go get a real modem. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Thank you for a prompt answer. As I recall, HWDIAG is stashed ont he Win95 and/or Win98 CDROM. I don't remember it being a true diagnostic, rather I remember it being a reporting system for what is installed. I will try it. If you stumble across something on the Net, then please let me know. However, do not make a point of it. As I get time, I will do the same (my time for non-business items is limited at work.) Thanks again, Gary

  6. #6
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Thank you for your prompt answer. This is not a Winmodem. And in particular, neither is the external modem I hooked up. I tried this routine with no luck. It seems as if the comm ports are "dead"--as I mentioned, there is no activity during the hardware reset/addressing at bootup. Still, I appreciate your thoughts and thank you again. Gary

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    You might go into MY COMPUTER/SYSTEM/DEVICE MANAGER and check to see if the ports are all there and don't show a yellow dot with an exclamation point indicating a problem. If the ports are all O.K. you may have a bad modem with a plug and play chip that isn't functioning.

  8. #8
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Thank you for your thoughts. I checked there and the ports show OK (no exclamation point.) Is the p-n-p chip you referred to a motherboard item or a modem item? I know that the modem functions correctly with p-n-p on another machine, so it should be fine. And the computer recognizes, I think, other p-n-p devices (sound card, etc.) Even if you are correct, how does this explain the lack of activity through the port at POST/bootup? To me, that is the root of the problem--but I'll be darned if I can figure out how to test it/prove it. Thank you, Gary

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    At boot up, can you get into the bios and see what is configured there?
    You need to hit <DELETE> or <F2> or something (depends on your system) - usually flashes up for a few seconds at the top of the screen.
    I recall there being some settings there for the ports.

  10. #10
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Thank you for your response. I looked at the BIOS and found nothing out of the ordinary (at least as far as my general BIOS knowledge goes.) The hex addresses match the standard values (and another computer.) I appreciate your thoughts on this, but this may be a dead end in my search. I have emailed Tech Support at FIC (the motherboard manufacturer) to see if they have any thoughts. But it's already been 4 days and without an answer. Thanks again, Gary

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Are you using USB?
    What makes/models of modem were you using?

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    The PNP chip is on the modem, if it has one, and later models do.

    I'd be tempted to change the mouse from a PS 2 (if that is what you're using) and try a serial mouse and boot up and see if it is found and loaded. This would give you some indication if the comm ports are O.K. If the serial mouse loads, check what port and irq to make sure no possible conflict arises with the modems. I would think that if the WINDOWS operating system can't find the serial mouse you have to do something like reload the OS.

  13. #13
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    No, USB is not in use for the modem(s). There is a Microsoft feedback joystick on the system. It may be USB. (Are you implying that there could be a relationship between a USB device and the comm ports?)

    I do not have model numbers available at this time, but the internal is a US Robotics and the external is a Boca Research.

    Thank you again, Gary

  14. #14
    a065tot
    Guest

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    Thanks once again. This sounds like an excellent idea. And since Windows reads the port directly for a mouse, it should really be a good indicator of what is/isn't happening.

    Until I get to try this out, unless someone stumbles on some useful testing software or knows something definitive, I say to hold off with more posts. I do thank everyone who has jumped in on this.

    Gary

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem / Comm Ports

    I have had the same problem with a winmodem (Lucent) indicating Comm3. Everyhting's fine in device manager and it reports modem is working properly. I disabled Comm 1 and 2 in bios and that didn't help. I too am at a loss. Lemme know if you find a solution, eventually...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •