Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    I'm trying to set the power settings of a student user in a domain so that the monitor etc. will not go to sleep. When I'm logged in as that user I can change the power settings to the way I want them but something seems to be overriding my settings and putting the monitor to sleep. I also tried changing the local administrator settings to be the same as the student user. No effect. What as I missing?

    Thanks.

    Paul

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    Are you saying that the next time the user logs in the setting revert? If so, then it could a policy being set by the domain controller when the user logs in. Check with you IT folks (assuming that's not you <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15> )

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    The settings don't revert; they just never changed. Somewhere the monitor is set to go to sleep in 15 minutes which was the original setting. I have set the settings to never and they don't change, but the monitor still goes to sleep. I also checked the monitor itself. It is not set to go to sleep on its own.

    I feel like I'm missing something.

    Paul

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    Is the machine set to hibernate or go into standby?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    I shut off Hibernation and standby.

    I wonder if I have to make the user a power user and not just a regular user.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Power Settings (XP/SR1)

    Paul,
    I'm not sure. Can't hurt to try it.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •