2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Inputting Data Basics (XP-SP2)

Hello all. I am a complete novice with access and I am trying to create my own database for training and also for room data sheets. I don't understand how I make a form for inputting data that will put duplicated information into both the parent and child reference.

I know this is probably a very fundamental issue, but I spend most of yesterday playing around and can't figure it out. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Inputting Data Basics (XP-SP2)

In general, you want to avoid duplicating information in a relational database. For instance, if several persons share the same address, you would create two tables:
    - tblAddresses, with a primary key AddressID (for example an AutoNumber field), plus fields necessary to store the address.
    - tblPersons, with a primary key PersonID, fields describing the person, and an AddressID field (number), linked to the AddressID field in tblAddresses.
    Now, if three persons (say, a family) have the same address, they would each have a different PersonID, but the same AddressID. If the family moves, you only have to change the address in the address table once, instead of for each person. If one of the persons moves, that person would get a new AddressID.

If you provide details of what you want to accomplish, we might be able to gice more specific help.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks