Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Hi

    We are about to convert our systems from O2K to O2003.

    In Excel in the XLSTART folder we have had two template shortcuts that was redirecting to a network drive.

    In 2003 this doesn't seems to work.

    Looked up help - and saw, not surprisingly, that it was either

    C:documents and settingsuser_nameapplication data microsofttemplates or
    Crogram files MicrosoftOffice11XLstart

    Tried a little test code:

    private sub Add1
    workbook.ad template:="TomyShortcut"
    end sub

    That worked!!

    Now my question is:
    Why doesn't the shortcuts work from the task pane, when they work through code??
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    I am not quite sure I understand your question.

    You claim:
    "In 2003 this doesn't seems to work."

    What are you attempting to accomplish, what are you doing to get it, and what is the result in o2000 and o2003?

    Steve

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Sorry for not being precise enough.

    02K (Our current solution works fine)
    When a user presses "File" -"New", on the general tab he sees the default workbook and the 2 additional ones "MyShortcut1" and "MyShortcut2" (both being placed on a central network drive for easy maintenance)
    In the folder C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOfficeXLSTART two shortcuts are placed - redirecting to the network.

    O2003
    I expected this solution to be portable to O2003 - but for some reason it doesn't work.
    Then I went to the help systems and saw that settings Cocuments....Templates or C:Program Files...XLSTART should be used.
    Tried to follow those instructions, but for some reason it still doesn't work.

    Both "My..1" and "My...2" are displayed along with the "Blank workbook" and "From existing workbook" in the task pane.
    But for some reason clicking them triggers no action - my templates aren't launched. (But if I do it in code it works fine...)

    More clear??

    Big Thx/ ;o)
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Does it work if you dblclick the shortcut from windows explorer?

    Does it make a difference if you add the shortcut to the xlstart or to the templates folder?

    I am getting to end of what I can do to help. I do not use o2003 (nor o2000), so I can not even check to see if I can replicate the problem, let alone find a workaround.

    I still have o97, and in XL97, the shortcut must be in the template folder to even display in the file-new. Adding it to the xlstart folder does not work.

    Steve

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Does it work if you dblclick the shortcut from windows explorer?
    Yes, fine without problems

    Does it make a difference if you add the shortcut to the xlstart or to the templates folder?
    - that is what I already have tried to do - without any success... (and which leads me to my conclusion that "something" must have been changed when the task pane was introduced)

    Big Thx - anyway/ ;o)
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    I don't have Excel 2003 either, but in Excel 2002 (which does have the "New Workbook" task pane), I can use shortcuts to templates.

    Note: there is a folder Cocuments and Settings<username>Templates, but this one is ignored by the Office applications. Putting a shortcut to a network template in Cocuments and Settings<username>Application DataMicrosoftTemplates causes it to be displayed, and double clicking it works correctly...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    I just tried in 2003 and it refuses to work, just as you said. The template shows up (but without an icon next to it), but clicking has no effect.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    I'll ask around, see if this is a known issue.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Appreciate your help - thank you very much.
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    Exactly my observation as well.

    I can live without the icons (nice to have)
    - but I need the shortcuts to work - wonder - since they are an HTML link, are their reference somehow wrong??
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting from O2K to O2003 (O2K / O2003)

    I have filed a bug at Microsoft about this. Not much more that can be done now I'm afraid.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •