Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bypass SCSI

  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Bypass SCSI

    Hi All

    I have a very, very old call recording system and database which is in desperate need to upgrade. The problem is it is working on an old 486 PC with DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.11, yes you heard it a Windows 3.11!

    All I need to do is transfer a backup file from the PC so that my contractors can do their magic and upgrade it onto a new database. All I need to do is get the file and leave it to them.


    I have been able to get an old copy of FX.exe which can transfer the data via the DOS prompt through a serial cable, and is a tried and tested method that I have used in the past. The problem is with the configuration of the PC.


    1) The Floppy A is disabled
    2) It has a SCSI card installed and when I boot the PC it says that the BIOS is not installed so I cannot change the boot sequence.
    3) FX ( for some reason won't upload the necessary files via the cable) doesn't like this PC and is probably due to the COM connections

    Is there a way I can bypass the SCSI to get to the BIOS? Or in fact another method just so I can get FX installed?

    Jerry
    Jerry

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bypass SCSI

    My early dealings with SCSI gave me a bunch of headaches when something wanted to share an IRQ with the SCSI card or even a PCI or ISA slot that would allow the sharing of IRQs even though nothing was being shared.

    Try to disconnecting the SCSI card and check to see if you can enter the BIOS. If you can try to configure the slot the SCSI card is using to not allow sharing of IRQs or move the card to its own slot.

    If that does not work can the SCSI card and or the hard drive (I am assuming the hard drive is a SCSI drive) be slaved to another existing PC?

    Just as a last thought, how the battery is on the mother board doing, not sure if there is any relevance but it could be worth a look on why the BIOS fails to show.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bypass SCSI

    Winston

    Wow this threw me off for a little bit and then I realised I posted it 24/06/04 some 371 days ago. I eventually solved this problem disabling the PC from the network and then working with it off line. Using my trusty old FX.exe application I was able to download it to my win98 laptop and burn the file to disk. We then used an old win 3.11 exe file ( Ithink called winsql) and was able to extract the required data for upload to a modern sql database.

    As you can imagine this took absolutely ages some 12 hours to extract via a serial cable and another 12 hrs to upload. It was a long old job but well worth it as we have a new shiny Windows 2000 system that runs beautifully. Thanks for getting back, this will be useful for other legacy systems that are requiring modernisation (thankfully there are only two left in the company)
    Jerry

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bypass SCSI

    I guess next time I need to pay a little more attention the year. I was thinking it was posted about 5 or 6 days ago <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bypass SCSI

    No problems
    Jerry

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bypass SCSI

    >No problems

    Which is unusual when you're about! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •