Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

database won't open until restart (XP)

I have had this problem for quite some time, but I cannot stand it anymore. Every once in a while, when a user tries to open one of the several databases we have set up, the ldb file is created but the database does not appear. You can click on the mdb file as many times as you want, and nothing comes up. The only way to solve the problem is to either restart or to end the MSACCESS process (with evil ctrl+alt+delete). You don't have to delete the ldb file to get it to open after you have ended the process, but the ldb file does remain. Nothing ever gets hurt from either of these methods, but I would just LOVE to know why it does it in the first place and what I can possibly do to fix it. It's definitely possible that it is something really simple or a general database development no-no (I'm self taught, and I'm sure I don't follow the rules). Everything remains compiled, and I make the users compact and repair often. I'm currently redesigning everything and consolidating all of the databases into one, and I've even noticed the problem as I'm designing this new one. Any information you have would be wonderful.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: database won't open until restart (XP)

This certainly is unusual and undesirable behavior.

Does the database appear in the task bar? If so, try cascading or tiling windows from the task bar.
    Do you have a startup form or an AutoExec macro? If so, does the database open if you keep the Shift key down to bypass startup options?

Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks, Hans. Of course it hasn't happened since I read your post, but I'll be sure to try those things the next time it does. It's frustrating mostly because it's so unpredictable. I haven't been able to figure out when it happens, which would give me some kind of idea as to why it happens. But that's how it goes. Thanks again for your help.

Lounger
    Thanks