Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ephrata, Washington, USA
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    We have several users who are experiencing problems now that we have upgraded to Office 2003 and Acrobat 6. When typing in a new or existing document, the text doesn't show up until they click the mouse. We have tried several things and after a lot of research, we figured out that if we delete the pdfmaker.dot file from the Word startup folder, then the issue goes away.

    The problem is that the only way we know of to create pdfs with bookmarks is by using the toolbar button (pdfmaker.dot). Printing to the virtual pdf printer doesn't create bookmarks. So...

    My question is, has anyone else experienced this problem? I posted a message on the Adobe site and haven't received any response yet.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)


  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ephrata, Washington, USA
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    We are using Adobe Acrobat 6, and that error is with 5.0.5. We don't receive any error message. From what Microsoft says, Acrobat 6 is the answer to the error you are talking about.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Yes, I know that, but at the bottom of the MSKB article, there is a link to the 6.0.1 fix for Adobe 6. Check if you already have that fix.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ephrata, Washington, USA
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Ah HA! I stopped reading 1/2 way down when I saw 5.0.5. You're right. We do not have the update. We are going to install it and see if it fixes the problem. I'll post back tomorrow and let you know. Thank you!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ephrata, Washington, USA
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Deep sigh.. The update does not fix this issue. I installed the update (and 6.0.2 update) and still, when the pdfmaker.dot file is in the Word startup folder, the user starts typing, but the text doesn't display until the user clicks the mouse or presses an arrow key or space bar. I did delete the normal.dot, but the problem recurs until we delete the pdfmaker.dot file from word startup. Any other ideas?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Sorry, no. I don't use Acrobat myself.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Hi Melanie,

    The actions you describe (mouse click, arrows) are the same as the ones that trigger the Application_SelectionChange event. Could be a coincidence, I suppose. The version of PDFMaker that I've got access does have an Events module, but only has a Quit event to clean up the toolbar.

    As a workaround, maybe you could put your own Add-in in the startup folder that just changes the selection, or something else that will get you past that initial "dead" stage.

    Good luck!

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    As an aside, while poking around PDFMaker, I think I may have found out why that toolbar won't go away. Maybe I'm reading this wrong, but it looks to me like the toolbar will always be set to visible, regardless of the registry setting ostensibly created to remember whether it should be open or not.

    <pre>...
    visible = True

    If (RegOpenKeyEx(HKEY_CURRENT_USER, "SoftwareAdobeAcrobatPDFMaker5.0", 0&, _
    KEY_QUERY_VALUE, hKey) = ERROR_NONE) Then
    RegQueryValueExNULL hKey, "WDVisible", 0&, REG_DWORD, 0&, cch
    If (RegQueryValueExLong(hKey, "WDVisible", 0&, REG_BINARY, _
    visible, cch) = ERROR_NONE) Then
    If (visible) Then
    ourToolbar.visible = True
    Else
    ourToolbar.visible = False
    End If
    Else
    ourToolbar.visible = True
    End If
    Else
    ourToolbar.visible = True
    End If
    </pre>


  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    I use Office XP, and have a very intermittent issue where I switch to another application (e.g., Alt+Tab), but I can't do anything until I click it again. Perhaps this is a related problem; "something" is interfering with the process of making the application active even though it is visually "in front." At least in your case you've identified the culprit, sort of.

    Perhaps there's a way to "force" this using VBA, but I don't have a sense at the moment of how to do it.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    As you can't review the PDFmaker code to correct the coding issue then I would suggest you remove this template from the startup group so that the default state for Word is to have this addin disabled.

    You can create a simple macro to enable/disable PDFMaker at the click of a button and if you do this then the user can turn it on when they wish to create a PDF and then turn it off again after doing so. In fact, you could tie in the initial PDFMaker macro so that there is only one button to click anyway.

    Post back if you need help to implement this method as a solution.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    Sure you can review the code -- just open up the template in OpenOffice, and go to Tools -> Macro. (Clearly whatever encryption algorithm Microsoft uses for "protecting" VBA projects isn't very good.)

    However, I have no idea if you'd be able to replace a the PDF maker template with a revised version ... that's a project for someone with more Windows API experience than myself.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: pdfmaker.dot corrupts normal.dot? (Word 2003)

    I haven't ever loaded OpenOffice. You're right about the weak encryption if that's all it takes to unprotect a protected template.

    You shouldn't need to replace the entire code set though - just disabling the code that runs on document open should do the trick - I can't imagine anything useful would be disabled by doing this. It would stop the toolbars recreating themselves and making sure they are displayed each time, and most likely stop the lack of focus problem the user is experiencing.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •