Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sygate Personal Firewall

    I've recently installed Sygate and am in the process of "training" it. However, a curious probing of my computer has occurred 3 times in recent days. When I've been away from my computer for a while and put it into sleep mode, I get notification that a remote machine is trying to contact Win32 kernel. I'm on a DSL but I have disconnected the modem during those times. And why should Win 32 kernel try to make connection? Anyone have a clue? (Sorry about the poor screen capture.)

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    Dennis,
    I've noticed an almost identical attempt to get into my system and I'm still using Zone Alarm. Don't know what it is BUT I have refused it and have not noticed any problems by NOT allowing it.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    I keep refusing it too but haven't yet ticked "remember this answer" box until I find out what's going on. Also, I haven't noticed any problems by refusing it.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    Dennis,
    According to your screen shot, the remote machine that is trying to make contact is 192.168.1.1. Is that not the address of your router (it is with Linksys routers)? Would this simply be normal communication between the router and computer?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    That is, in fact, the Linksys router address. Duh!! <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24> What puzzles me is why I should get this warning only when I wake the computer and while there is no connection. Also, as I indicated, it's happened only 3 times in the past week or so, and I've had my computer in sleep mode numerous times in that week.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    I don't have a router but still get similar messages. I admit I haven't paid attention to the address involved, just refused it. I guess I can change the permission to "ask" and see just what it is to satisfy any suspicions. It sure isn't a router, not mine anyway.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    Dennis,
    It may depend on how long the PC is asleep. It could just be trying to renew the IP address.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    This packet is a DHCP Ack for a request to renew a lease.

    Your DHCP server, at address 192.168.1.1 is sending a UDP packet from port 67 to your PC Client, at address 192.168.1.47 port 68.

    Because it is being sent to a known address (192.168.1.47) and not to a broadcast address this tells us that the client already has an IP address and that the server knows this address. That is how we know it is a renewal of a lease and not a new request.

    You should configure your firewall to allow packets from 192.168.1.1 port 67 that are being sent to local address port 68.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygate Personal Firewall

    Thanks. Will do so the next time it pops up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •