Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    combo box (Access XP)

    I have a combobox on a form. I can select a value from the list and everything works fine. However when I type in the numbers it wont show what is in the list as you type.

    The table (Req) behind the combobox is :
    ID...........................Autonumber and PK
    A/S NUMBER...... long integer
    NAME
    AUTHORISER......Yes / No

    The SELECT statement that is the source of the Combobox is:
    SELECT [Req].ID, [Req].[A/S NUMBER], [Req].NAME FROM [Req] WHERE ((([Req].AUTHORISER)=Yes)) ORDER BY [Req].[A/S NUMBER];

    The properties of the combobox are:
    Column Count: 3
    Col Widths: 0cm;1cm;5cm
    Bound Column: 1
    Limit to List: Yes

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    Has the Auto Expand propery of the combo box (in the Data tab of the Properties window) been set to No? If so, set it to Yes.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    Auto Expand was always set to Yes.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    Sorry, that's the only thing that came to mind.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    I have created an extra form and tried it there and I don't have a problem.

    One major difference between the forms is that the old form has the combobox on a Tab control. I would find it hard to believe this would be the problem.

    However I shall keep on hunting.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    As far as I know, there are no issues with combo boxes on tab controls (there are with some ActiveX controls, such as the TreeView control).

    What happens if you copy the working combo box from the new form to the old form?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    What I found was that there was a Null number in the list. Putting a WHERE clause to exclude this Null number record happened to make it work. [weird]

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: combo box (Access XP)

    Strange indeed, but I'm glad you found a workaround.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •