Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    SpywareBlaster - new version

    SpywareBlaster 3.2 has just been released. The Mozilla/Firefox protection should now correctly detect profiles for Mozilla 1.7 & Firefox 0.9 and up. SpywareBlaster is still free but there is now an option to include AutoUpdate for $9.95 a year. The option to manually update is still free.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Well, spotted, Tony! I note the ...

    Upgrade Instructions

    It is recommended that you uninstall your current version of SpywareBlaster before installing the new version. To do this:
    1.) Open SpywareBlaster and press the "Disable All Protection" link under "Quick Tasks".
    2.) Close SpywareBlaster.
    3.) Go to Add/Remove Programs and uninstall the entry named "SpywareBlaster v3.1"
    4.) Download the latest SpywareBlaster installer from the link above and run it.
    5.) Enjoy the new version of SpywareBlaster!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Being the tardy individual that I am I just got around to downloading and installing the 3.2 version. I followed the un-install instructions (which don't mention any necessary reboot that I can see). Version 3.2 seems to be successfully installed but does not recognize that I have MOZILLA running on this machine. Any clues?

    BTW, the 3.1 version did know about Mozilla, in fact I only recently upgraded Moz to version 1.7.1 and just prior to installing 3.2 this morning, the 3.1 version showed Moz protection to be enabled.

    Edited: Forgot to say that the top part of the attachment is from 3.1 showing that it did recognize Moz. Bottom part from 3.2 with Moz "cookies" inaccessible.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Al

    As far as I can tell you can enable the protection for Mozilla 1.7.1, even if SpywareBlaster 3.2 didn't detect it.

    You might want to have a search in the SpywareBlaster Support Forum for problems associated with your weird and unusual browser <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> !!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Yeah, thanks John. I've read and searched their forums with tons of mention about Firefox (.8 vs. .9) and even a small bit about Netscape. I can't see anything (so far) specifically about Mozilla, but I'm gonna keep on looking. What makes you say that you think I CAN enable protection - the small button in my attachment is not clickable and even on the main page, when I click on "Enable all protection" the only thing it says about Mozilla is that it didn't detect a profile, which I obviously have 'cause here I am. I think maybe I'll re-install Mozilla over-the-top and see if that helps. Thanks for looking.

    Edited to add: Tried a re-install of Moz 1.7.1 over-the-top and included a restart afterward. No dice. I guess I may have to give up on SpywareBlaster.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Al

    I saw the tick-box and assumed you could click at it! Never assume anything...

    I'd keep SpywareBlaster installed, because it handles protection for lots of things other than browsers!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    Hi Al,

    I also have V3.2 loaded and it is showing that Firefox is recognized. I don't have the extra display of text like you show, at the bottom of the dialog box. I haven't the faintest idea why mine seemed to work! I just deleted the old and reloaded the new so don't give up on it - it should work!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpywareBlaster - new version

    <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I also have a copy of Netscape loaded. I noted that it refers to Netscape yet the front page shows protection for Moz. So now I don't know................. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •