Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Erase CD-RW

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Erase CD-RW

    I need a program to completely erase CD-RW disks, I have spent 3 days trying to backup my system with Ghost 2003, I can not get past the first disk the system hangs and reboots back into Windows XP Home SP-1. A check of the Symantec Knowledge Base revealed that for Ghost to recognise previously used CD-RW disks they must be completely erased. I have Nero 6 and used the utility within that program to achieve that task. The disks still don't always work. Does anybody know of a simple utility that will completely erase the disks.

    Maybe a second issue is that my burner is a Yamaha 3200E MRW the M applies to the Mt. Rainer (EasyWrite) technology. Very useful in Nero as a disk takes about 30 seconds to format. Should I have the INCD setting set for use of the Mt. Rainer format or not when I am using Norton Ghost. Technically INCD has nothing to do with the image process). There is nothing more frustrating than burning a disk and 45 minutes later having your system reset. The burner is listed among the supported devices within the Symantec web site.

    The Mt. Rainer technology is reviewed at http://www.licensing.philips.com/information/mtr/gi/

    or

    http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Articles/S...syWrite&index=0


    All advice and recommendations gratefully received and appreciated.

    Ted

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    Are you attempting a quick or full format of the CD-RW disks?

    Mt. Rainier technology should be avoided with Ghost as I recall. I believe it expects only ISO format disks.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    You should have also installed, Nero InCD, which also has an erase utility as well as the format function for CD-RW disks. It was just recently updated to version: 4.2.91. I no longer use Ghost, but it isn't much different than Drive Image or True Image, which is the program I now use, in that you do NOT use "formatted" CD-RW disks for storing backups. You use them UNformatted, i.e., right out of the box. And when you want to reuse them, then you erase them. So, if you are using formatted CD-RW disks, that is most likely causing your problem.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    Thanks for all the advice, the Symantec site states that any disk previously formatted should be erased by using the unformat utility. There are a couple of ways in NERO, but I cannot get any of them to work after they have been used once.

    I idea was a third party utility that may have achieved the same result. That is return the disk to it's native state.

    Ted

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    Do a Full erase, not a Quick erase.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    Are you doing a Full erase?

    InCD has a history of issues.

    Try Roxio's Easy Media Creator 7 and use Drag to Disk.

    On my multiboot system, I use Roxio on the main system and Ahead on the other, but have not formatted with InCD for several versions.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    I am doing a full erase, I have tried the version on the new interface of Nero 6 under extras and by going into Burning Rom under recorder>erase disk. Yes they work straight out of the box, but are completely useless once used. I need (or would like) a third party utility to try another type of erase.

    I purchased a 100 slim line boxed set of Imation CD-RW disks specifically for the Incremental backup procedure I have used for years, I should have purchased 1000.

    Thanks for the help, any further suggestions are welcome.

    Ted

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    For CD-RW, do not use the Nero erase, use the InCD erase.

    If you still have no luck, purchase Roxio's Easy Media Creator 7 and use Drag To Disk to erase.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    Howard,

    The "erase" utility in Nero and InCD I believe are the same thing; just a different way of accessing it.

    There are known conflict issues when EMC7/Drag to Disk and Nero/InCD are installed on the same HD. See here: Problems using both EMC7 and Nero.

    E_OGRADY should probably ask about his "erase" problem here: Ahead Software as there are 2 official Nero representatives that particpate in that Forum.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Erase CD-RW

    He should ditch the Ahead software and run the Roxio software.
    I have each installed in separate boot systems.
    InCD is the worst product I've ever had the misfortune to purchase.

    Actually Nero and EMC Creator will supposedly co-exist, but InCD cannot be installed if Drag2Disk is installed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •