Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kendrick, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Keep program running

    Problem: To dedicate a computer to a specialized checkin program for a daycare. They want the checkin program to run when computer starts (no problem). But the checkin screen (purchased custom software) has an EXIT button on it. I need to automate the program being RESTARTED if it is exited, because you know every third person will exit!

    Thanks
    Nora

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keep program running

    I think you would be better off to have a shortcut for the program right on the desktop to restart the program if someone should make a mistake and exit it. Just let everyone know the shortcut is there and how to use it.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kendrick, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keep program running

    I agree, but this system will be used by parents and grandparents checking out kids, some of whom will use it infrequently. This will be the first time some of them have touched a mouse. A re-starting program will be more satisfactory. Unless the software company would remove the EXIT button.

    Nora

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keep program running

    there's no real way for windows to check if a prog is running and restart it. Unless you find a third party app to do it, but i've never seen it. Your best bet, as mentioned, is to put a icon on the desktop..
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keep program running

    wonder if you could do something from task scheduler to run it if not running - you can close if running.

    if the program is designed to only have one copy loaded, you could start it every xx minutes from TS. if it's not open, it would load, if open, it would ignore the request.

    WSH scripting might be able to check for it and run it if not running. the script can run from TS.

  6. #6
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Keep program running

    The other way to use WSH is to start the program from the script with a WAIT to complete. Next entry in script is a password protected dialog prompt to exit. If the exit dialog fails or times out, then loopback to restart program.

    This would not need TS, though TS would be a good way to handle other failure cases.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keep program running

    You could use a batch file to start the program, and if it exits loop back and start it again. Something like the following untested batch:

    @ECHO OFF
    :LOOP
    START /WAIT programname.EXE
    GOTO LOOP
    Legare Coleman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •