Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    My son-in-law just got a new Dell with XP installed, and a bunch of other things.

    Assuming all the "original" CDs are there, can I start fresh and install everything the way I want it? What the heck was the man at Dell talking about when he said that the software "installs itself"? Can't I set up the folders etc. to my own prefs?

    If I (need to) re-format, can I? Are there hidden partitions etc.? The guy says "No", but then I was told that the OEM version of XP *had* to be installed on that drive. ??

    So then (if so) what do you do about back-ups?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    As long as you have an XP product CD and a system restore CD you can install fresh the way you wish. A restore Cd is intended to return the PC to the state at which it left the factory. As such you have almost no control over most restores.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Joe:

    If I have the XP OEM CD, and nothing "goes wrong", what do I need the restore for (Hope not)?

    'Cause if I restore the the same state that the original install was, what have I gained? It's still all screwed up isn't it?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Chuck,
    I was just trying to answer your question. Guess I wasn't very clear <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>. If you have product CDs and not system restore CDs you can start fresh and install any way you please. You can format the drive if you wish.
    Even though you,me and lots of others may think that most OEM systems are screwed up when shipped, the point of the system restore CD is that OEM vendor support has a version of the system that they 'know' worked when the PC left the factory. Some lazy support people (almost) automatically have inexperienced users restore a system when that should be a last resort.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Joe:

    But is there some type of indetifier between the hard drive and XP? Otherwise, what's to stop the install of the XP on "both" of your machines? If not, do you think the problems we had before were just dip switch related, or some such?

    You are right: when there was a problem a call to dell put it back to the way it was shipped... no more no less...
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Joe:

    AAMOF, what's the diff if I "ghost the partitions (or drive) when I'm done? Works in XP doesn't it? 'Cause that would make me even more secure...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Joe:

    While we're on the subject: I'm not (very) clear on what a System T=Restore would / could do... since the 150 or so megs that the backups I've seen are no where near all the files, nor even (inmy own case, for example) enough to back up the "My Documents" portion...

    So you still wold have many of the same issues, wouldn't you?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    I hope that these questions are strictly theoretical, 'cause if it ain't broke, I suggest you don't fix it. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    For backups: I only back up data myself, but if you make regular image backups in addition to daily data backups, restoration could be much, much faster.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Jefferson:

    BTW, I apologize for the name mi-up... I just realized ...

    You of course are right... since you can't image folders, daily(s) on the data, combined with the image of the structure, always works as a good net...

    I just wondered, since I'm new to the XP issue(s), whether MS's reg process would cause problems if you installed over a freshly formatted drive. 'Cause I use a couple of programs (AI Roboform and Tweaki for Power Users, to name a couple), that are intrinsically tied (how I do not know), to the disk, and a "particular format".

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Product Activiation depends on the hardware in the computer - the license for XP is tied to the unique hardware signature. So in short, installing XP on the same hardware is no problem, it will prompt for activation and it will be painless. You will only have issues if the hardware has changed significantly between installations.
    -Mark

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Mark:

    Hard drive changes?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    A hard drive change alone would not trigger reactivation. There is a threshold, a certain number of pieces of hardware that you can change, before activation gets tripped and requires you to call for a new code. If you were swapping the network card, hard drive, and maybe one other item, you would probably have to activate again, but in this case you should be safe.
    -Mark

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Mark:

    This is "kinda" shifting topics... if so we can "move to another room..." but:

    If the XP machine is NTFS, then the 2K machine, which is FAT 32, may not see it? even in Windows? Because, the XP machine is set up with a folder to share (I just set it), but from the 2K machine, the XP machine, shows as a named machine, but that's all... no drive no printers...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    When a computer shares a drive, it behaves as a server and provides data in a format recognizable to all kinds of Windows clients. In corporate networks, for years you had Windows 98 machines reading from and writing to Windows NT servers formatted with NTFS hard drives. The fact that the Windows 98 machines had no NTFS capability was irrelevant. So your issue probably lies somewhere else (share privileges, for example).

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Mods to a new machine (XP SP-1(?))

    Jefferson:

    But when you gave me the instructs a couple of weeks back, it was a straight forward deal: go to explorer, right click on the folder, sharing and set it for "allow" maximum users (this is done and it is showing (on the XP machine)), then got to the "client" and n explorer, go to "Map" and select a letter (I use "T" -- Transfer) and then map the drive to the shared folder -- which it *will not* do... it shows the two machine names, but clicking on the source machine's "+" just makes it go away... nothing there...

    I *dunno*

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •