Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP and dial-up (SP1)

    HELP!!!! I am running Windows XP (with service pack 1)and have Norton Systemworks and Adaware (with plugins) installed. My XP Media Maker quit working so I reinstalled XP using the online update feature to update at the same time (except that I did not install Messenger when the prompt displayed). The install seemed to go fine, but after the install I received a message that my DVD decoder needed to be upgraded that included a lnk for an upgrade. When I clicked the button my system crashed...I recieved a message that Windows was shutting down to prevent damage to my computer ... and the system perfomed a memory dump. After the system rebooted everything seemed to work fine (including Media Maker) ... but everytime I click my dial -up icon the system displays the 'system damage' message again and performs a memory dump. The error codes that were listed are:

    BCcode: 10000008e BCP1: C0000005 BCP2: 804F8844 BCP3: F08FD768 BCP4: 00000000 OSVer: 5_1_2600 SP:1_0
    Product 256_1

    A check by Norton System Works found some errors that it repaired (W/O fixing the crash problem) and one that it could not fix involving a missing file; the Norton message:

    Missing File - CProgram file|common

    Filesinstall shieldProfessional Runtime 0701intel32DotNet.installer.exe cannot access a necessary file mscoree.dll

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: XP and dial-up (SP1)

    > after the install I received a message that my DVD decoder needed to be upgraded that included a lnk for an upgrade.

    This sounds sort of suspicious, like the infamous "Messenger Service Spam" that tries to sell you printer cartridges or stuff.

    Can you re-create your dial-up account using Start>Settings>Network Connections>New Connections Wizard?

    The error involving MSCOREE.DLL is discussed on this page on the InstallShield site. Doesn't sound that critical.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and dial-up (SP1)

    Thanks for your reply! After I posted to this site I tried checking the device manager (which told me the modem was working fine) then did an uninstall of the modem and removed the dial-up connection (on advice from another 'computer person') ... the idea being that I could start over , have the system reinstall what it needed, and recreate my dial-up. When I rebooted Windows detected a 'simple communications controller' , but when the system tried to install it it went through the same routine as before (including the memory dump). I allowed the system to reboot itself and it found a 56K modem , then proceeded to crash again (again with the memory dump etc.). After I physically removed the modem from computer the system booted normally....and this is where I am at now.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: XP and dial-up (SP1)

    At least your modem is removable! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    This is a small PCI board? You could try different slots and see if there is a problem with the slot it was in. If that doesn't help, I'm not sure what to try next. Buying a new modem might be a waste of money if the problem really is in software.

    Who is your vendor? Do they have custom modem drivers you might need to install? (Windows doesn't always include the best drivers.) Do you have any kind of support plan?

    Last but not least, how do you feel about broadband?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and dial-up (SP1)

    Thanks again!! The computer itself is 'home built' (ASUS A7V333 with an Athalon chip, 384 MB DDR, and 2 hard drives). The board is a 56K HiVal PCI board ..... the board and connection were working fine until these problems struck (the initial problem occurred after an interactive upgrade of the operating system through the Microsoft site). My current download speed is EXTREMELY SLOW and I have been thinking of switching over ... but I am concerned that the problem may be in XP.... one reason I have not just wiped everything and started over is because my downloads right now are so bad that I frequently 'time out' before they are complete (I suspect this may have contributed to the current problem).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •