Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: System Tray

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Tray

    I am using Win98SE and a freeware program called Startup Manager. I know how to add programs so that they load at startup but how do I get a program, such as the Windows calculator, to open minimised in the System Tray?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Would it not be simpler and less of a resource to add it to your Quick Launch?

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    I would go for Leif's suggestion; however, if you want to minimize programs to the tray, rather than the taskbar, you could try a <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> utility like Tray It! Bear in mind that the tray holds running applications, so an instance of calc.exe would need to be running all the time for its icon to be accessible from/ visible in the tray. There might also be multiple instances appear there. For this reason too, Leif's suggestion seems a better alternative, at least for an "on demand" application like Calculator.

    Alan

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Before Leif's suggestion appeared I found another freeware program, PutInTray, which I used successfully. However, I take your point that items in the system tray are running all the time and have therefore done away with PutInTray and have added the calculator to the Quick Launch toolbar. Thank you both for your input.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Just a secondary thought - you can create your own "Quick Launch" styled toolbars very easily, that take up hardly any space at all. I have one that sits up against the left of the system tray, for the myriad of utilities etc. I use. It appears as U

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Just out of curiousity, Alan, why do you create your own rather than just using Quick Launch in the same manner? (Although I've found that I can only squeeze QL to the size of 4 icons+

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    For exactly the reason you state Phil <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> - to conserve taskbar real estate. But it's also because my custom one is an all & sundry everything affair, while I tend to use QL specifically for oft' used internet-related programs, as well as Windows Explorer, Show Desktop and Calculator. Just a matter of organization I suppose.

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •