Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Running NAV (2004, as part of pre-loaded NIS on new Dell system) and ZA 5.0.

    NAV's Automatic LiveUpdate doesn't seem to work...have to go to the Symantec site and download the update by hand. Any suggestions?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    See this thread for discussion on this issue.

  4. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Live Update is a separate set of programs from the other Norton programs. It is usually found in C:SymantecLiveupdate. I would try to download the latest version of LU ( V2.0 ) then uninstall the existing copy of LU. Reboot and install the latest version.

    The other BIG problem with ZA ver 5.o.xxx is that it doesn't allow Virus checking by either Norton or McAfee AV. So far as I know there is still no fix for THIS problem.

    I have followed the crowd in removing ZA form my system and installing Sygate firewall.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Bob, you seem to be overstating the problem, which involved the scanning of inbound e-mail and not ALL virus scanning. Also, that problem is supposed to have been fixed:
    <hr>New and improved features in ZoneAlarm Pro version 5.0.590.043
    <UL><LI>Fixed Norton AV e-mail scanning issue
    <LI>Fixed issue with SSH timout
    <LI>Fixed installation issue with McAfee Security Center
    <LI>Fixed system stability issues
    <LI>Routine maintenance items[/list]Source: ZoneAlarm Pro Release History
    Added: ZoneAlarm {free} Release History<hr>
    That said, it would be advisable to check the company's support forums for further details.

  6. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    It was the scanning of outbound virus checks on emails also.

    I know they said it was fixed but I tried just a day or two ago with that version and it was still no good. That's when I went to Sygate.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    The inability of LiveUpdate to update live, when ZoneAlarm is also installed, roughly matches my own experience on an OzPC of my acquaintance.

    I told the chap that if he wanted LiveUpdate to work he should try removing ZoneAlarm. (He actually has Norton Internet Security installed, which includes the Norton Firewall, but he had ZoneAlarm "on first".)

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    I have been using both ZoneAlarm and Notions on 4 machines for years and have NOT had any problems until ZA version 5 came out. I went back to a earlier version of ZA and everything is working great.

    I am not using Nortons Security, as I tried it on this machine because it came with it, and I never got it to work. Having two or more firewalls is NOT the thing to do, in my book.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    For the record...outgoing E-mail IS being scanned...not sure about incoming E-mail...but Automatic LiveUpdate doesn't work.

    Bob...following your suggestion to download new LU and un-install old LU, exactly how would you un-install the old LU?

    Anyone out there using NAV and ZA, was the overall situation better with ZA 4.5 then with ZA 5.0?

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Have you checked the Programs settings in ZA and it is set to allow "LiveUpdate" and "Common Client......" to have interned access?
    If NOT ZA is blocking it and is doing what you told it to do.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Three different "Common Client..." programs have both trusted and internet access. But "LiveUpdate" isn't listed and ZA never asks me about it...

  12. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    You stated that there are three common Client but only are two are trusted.

    You can add LU by using the add button in the prgram area.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Many thanks for the tip...I've done it, will see if it works.

    Do I also need to enable any of the 3 related programs? LuALL (Wizard), LSetup (Installer), or LUInit (Init module)?

    Joel

  14. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    Not listed in my permissions area. Good luck.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    ---------------------------------------
    how would you un-install the old LU?
    --------------------------------------
    It should be listed right in Control Panel>ad-remove programs list. Then go to C:Program filesSymantecliveupdate and delete any remainder left in that folder.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  16. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton AV and Zone Alarm...can they co-exist?

    I tried that latest version of ZA and found it worse that the original 5.x version. On my PC at least, it not only screwed up Norton AV but also Norton AntiSpam. I finally just gave up and went over to Sygate Personal Firewall. Frankly, the Sygate product seems superior to me. For my main PC I purchased the Pro version and use the personal version on this laptop.

    ZA is trying to be all things to all people. It is unlikely to work for them anymore than it has ever worked in history.

    Good discussion, guys.

    --Bob Harris
    -Bob Harris http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/pub...ult/cheers.gif
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •