Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sausalito, California, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WOPR / FP error msg (FP 2003)

    Hi-
    Whenever I launch Front Page 2003 (happened with FP 2000 as well...one of the reasons I upgraded <g>), I get an error message:

    ---------------------------
    WOPR Task Pane Customizer
    ---------------------------
    Procedure 'modFunctions.fblnIsOKToRun()' in 'WOPRTaskPaneCustomizer' encountered Error # 429 - ActiveX component can't create object
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Any idea how to shut off this task pane customizer or fix the error message? I just click OK and everything works fine, but it seems so lame to leave it there forever...

    thanks,

    Tom O'Connell

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: WOPR / FP error msg (FP 2003)

    I haven't installed any versions of WOPR, so I'm not sure exactly how it hooks into FrontPage. I'd guess it's a COM Add-in. If you open the Tools>Add-ins dialog and uncheck WOPR, does it stop loading it? If there are features in WOPR that you want to use in FrontPage, I guess you'd need a better fix...

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sausalito, California, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WOPR / FP error msg (FP 2003)

    I don't want to use any WOPR features with FP (I don't think ... do I???)

    There is nothing listed as an add-in. WOPR is not listed as a Web Component... somehow , Office XP is pushing this over to FP .

    where would you advise me to check??? I guess I could uninstall WOPR and see if it goes away and then see if there are choices when I reinstall.

    thanks

    tom

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: WOPR / FP error msg (FP 2003)

    I think maybe FrontPage has a default code container like other Office applications (like Word's Normal.dot and Excel's personal.xls) where the WOPR code might be stashed...

    <Off Hunting Files...>

    Okay, I opened FrontPage, pressed Alt+F11 to fire up the Visual Basic Editor, expanded the top project, created a simple macro, saved, and exited out. I then went looking for the changed file, and found it under:

    Cocuments and SettingsUserNameApplication DataMicrosoftFrontPageMacrosMicrosoft FrontPage.fpm

    Now, I don't suggest completely deleting this file, but try renaming it and see if FrontPage returns to its default behavior. If you have your own macros that you don't want to lose, you should try editing the file in the VB Editor -- after making a backup. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sausalito, California, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WOPR / FP error msg (FP 2003)

    Thanks...seems to work fine

    tom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •