Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Direct connect problems

    I am attempting to use Direct Connect to move files from my old Win95 to my new XP PRo machine. I bought a Belkin Direct Connect cable for my LPT1 port. But XP is constantly giving me a message that the Useraname or password is invalid for the domain message, that is, when I'm not getting a Error771 system is busy message. I have been trying to find out where in 95 I have to go to set these username and password things, and why XP thinks a domain is involved, since it was told this was a Direct Connect setup in the Wizard. There seem to be many places in 95 to set passwords, such as in teh DIrect connect wizard itself, the System properties in Control Panel, and the Password folder in the COntrol panel. I am the only user so I am not sure where that user info is located-having never had to deal with it. Any guidance will be appreciated. Just re-reading the XP DIrect Connect instructions it says *A direct network connection that uses a DirectParallel cable requires a stand-alone computer running Windows 2000 or Windows XP. * Meaning I cannot conntect to the 95? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    Check out the articles return in this
    MS KB searcg.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Direct connect problems

    There's a lot of hits in Joe's link, so I'm not gonna read 'em all to see if this is already in there! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> You might need to add a user account on the XP machine of the same name that you use when you logon to the old machine. When you do, you may even have to add that user to the Permissions list on whatever shares will be accessed.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    You will probably save yourself a lot of wasted time and effort if you go to your local software store and buy a copy of LapLink. I have not used it on XP (since I will not install any software that includes the Registration/Activation wizard), but it has always worked well on everything I have used it on.
    Legare Coleman

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    Your easiest solution may simply be removing the hard drive from the Windows 95 computer, and connecting it directly to the XP box. Once you have the files moved over, you can then remove the old hard drive, and return it to the 95 box for whatever purpose you may have.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    I bought PCRelocator but am concerned about the fact it moves applications and files. I want to transfer just files and not fiddle with the XP registry or install old programs. I'll get new ones. But I feel forced to try this since I cannot get XP to see the 95 pc using the direct cable connect. That p's me off. This should be simple, esp. since I want only files to transfer. I'd hate to give any program the uncontrolled ability to move programs and settings behind my back. I may take Relocator back. Any ideas as to why XP will not see my 95, or where in 95 I go to create the user name XP is looking for? Thanks

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    I've thought of that, but wouldn't that be risky? I'm not that proficient and would be concerned about the BIOS settings and so on. And I just don't understand why, if I have the DIrect connect on both systems and the correct cable, I cannot do what it says I should be able to do. This is becoming a big hassle. Thanks for the idea.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct connect problems

    Microsoft has never been very good at that kind of code. Their Backup/Restore never worked very reliably if the OS releases were different. I think Microsoft throws in code like that because one of their programmers wrote it to solve some problem and they had it sitting around. They don't support it very well.

    I don't know anything about PCRelocator, so no comments on using it. It doesn't sound like something I would want to use. I think that copying applications between systems sounds dangerous, and could lead to some very aberant behavior. Maybe you could trade it for Laplink.
    Legare Coleman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •