Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Data from file (VBA/Excel/97)

Is it possible to extract a single data point from a text file using VBA without having to pull an entire row or column?

Thanks

Re: Data from file (VBA/Excel/97)

What is the format of the text file you want to read? There is a specific set of methods for reading INI-style text files, and you can use ADO to read CSV-formatted text files, but for other text files, you usually have to develop your own code...

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

It's a comma delimited text file.

Thanks

If you use ADO, you can query it. Without ADO, I think you'd have to read in each row and examine it in your code. My old <post#=133021>post 133021</post#> shows the general outline of ADO access to a CSV file, but your query and other processing will vary. Hope this helps.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Okay, I'm new to VBA and definitely new to ADO but I think I'm following somewhat what your code is doing. I got it to extract a data point, but I need it to do something more. My data file has the names of the months in column one and some named variables (e.g., Average Balance) in row one. Is it possible for me to extract the Average Balance for June? If so, how would I code this?

Thanks

Assuming you create a recordset corresponding to the entire CSV "table," you could try the Filter property, which takes a value similar to SQL's WHERE clause (e.g., " field1 = 'June' "), or the Find method. I haven't tested either of these with this provider, and others Loungers may have better (more efficient) suggestions.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

You can build the restriction into the recordset, by using an SQL statement. Something like this (substitute the correct folder and file name):
    <pre>Dim cnn As New ADODB.Connection
    Dim rst As New ADODB.Recordset
    cnn.Open "Provider=MSDASQL;Driver={Microsoft Text Driver (*.txt; *.csv)};DBQ=C:Test"