Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1) When I first installed our server with SBS 2003, there was one NIC in the server so I set up the network and internet that way. Over the weekend, I installed a second NIC (identical to the first NIC) into the server and it seems to be functioning correctly, however I could not get the internet to pass through the server. After spending some time on that, I decided that I would go back to the old 1 NIC for both internet and network for the time being. After going back to what I think are the exact same settings, the server accesses the internet fine but cannot see anybody on the domain, nor can anyone on the domain see the server. Is there anything extra I need to do so that the server will be able to communicate on the domain again?

    Problem 2) The hard drive that I installed SBS 2003 on is only 9 gigs, so it is practically full. I was looking around and found that the exchange mailbox store is about 2.5 gigs so I decided to move that to another hard disk. After looking up how to move it through the Windows help file, I thought it would be easy. So I moved the file to the other hard disk, but now the store will not mount and no one can access it. I get an error when i try to mount it. I do not have the exact number of the error right now because I have gone back to the old operating system (Windows 2000 Pro) for the time being.
    When I moved the exchange mail store, I went into the system manager, went to properties and changed the location under the "database" tab.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1.) I've read that the wizards with SBS 2003 are very good. Is there one for configuring networking (both Internet and Intranet)?
    Here's a quote from MS SBS 2003 Best practices .

    Run the Configure E-mail and Internet Connection Wizard to connect your server to the Internet.
    A key function of Windows
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1) What does your network look like? Are you trying to connect one NIC to the Internet, and one NIC to the internal, private network. I've never done that myself, but I've heard good and bad things from peopel that have. Seems like more trouble than it's worth.

    2) To move my Exchange store I did: Excahnge System Manager . Dismount Store, Properties of Mailbox store, Database Tab. Change the file locations here (notice there is an stm file and an edb file. Then move the files, and remount the store.

    Exchange administration can be failry subtle. If you are going to do a lot of it, it would probably be best to subscribe to a Exchange amiling list.

    Jim Helfer
    WTW Achitects
    Pittsburgh PA

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1) My network is as follows: We have DSL going into a netgear Modem/Router/Firewall/Wireless Access Point and then to a HP procurve switch. There are 3 companies in our building and all building internet goes through this one router. I tried to make two Virtual LANs on the switch but was having problems. Once I figure that out, there will be one VLAN for our company and one for the rest of the building. For our VLAN, I would like to go from the router to a NIC in the server, and then out through another NIC in the server to the switch. This would provide a lot more security than we currently have. When I had both NICs enabled in the server and was trying to set up the internet to run though, I ran the Connect Internet & Network wizard or whatever it's called that comes up in the "To Do List". I couldn't get it to work.

    When I set this up, the NIC for the internet will have the same settings as my current enabled card in my server, is this correct? What will be the settings on my intranet card? Where do I define the server ip that will be used for company workstations to access the server, such as when they type the server ip address into IE?

    2) The store right now is dismounted and will not mount when I try to make it. Was there something I had to do before moving it? The error it gave me said something about it still being in use by one or more users.

    If I uninstall and reinstall exchange but keep the mailbox database as well as my public folders database, will I be able to import these somehow or use them again so that I do not lose all that information?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1) I'm not sure what you are trying to do here, but I wouldn't do it this way. I would suggest this arrangement instead

    Internet router -> Firewall -> HP Switch -> Servers and Workstations

    This setup is much simpler to setup, manage, and gives you much better security than your setup.

    2) If you can't mount the store now, I don't think you'll be able to import it later. As far as I know, there aren't really any methods to do that without a running exchange server. Can you come up with the exact error messages and sequence of events leading up to it? That's what this game is all about, you know.

    Jim

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    1) I was under the impression that if you routed the internet through the server and then to the workstations, that this would be a lot more secure. Am I wrong?
    Well anyways, there's no reason to worry about it anyways, we're just going to have one network card in the server for right now. We think that routing it through causes too many problems and would slow the internet service for the workstations down too much.
    What can be the reason that I can access and surf the internet but not see any other computers nor can any other computers see the server on the network?

    2) I will post the errors numbers friday evening. That will be the first chance I get to work on the server.
    As far as what I did, I went to the exchange server manager, opened the domain folder, went to my domain, went to the first public store, then to mailbox store, right clicked went to properties. From there I went to the database tab, clicked the "move" buttons next to the location of the database and that other file and moved them to my other hard drive (moved to C: from D clicked ok. It asked me if i knew that it would dismount the store then remount and I said yes. I said ok, it went through a several minute operation of moving the thing, and then came up with an error saying couldn't move everything because several users were still using it or something similar. The store is dismounted right now and gives me an error when I right click and go to mount. Again, I will have these numbers up probably friday evening. I made this move during an afternoon, one person still had outlook open I think, is this what caused the problem or should that not matter?

    As far as the public store, this is fully operational and mounted. I am just worried that if I uninstall exchange and reinstall it, it will get rid of all the data that I have put into it already. How can I keep this data so that I can use it again?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    <hr>1) I was under the impression that if you routed the internet through the server and then to the workstations, that this would be a lot more secure. Am I wrong?<hr>

    Well, there are certainly ways that you could set it up to make it perhaps a bit more secure. However, consider that if you have your server "in front" of the workstations, you aren't so much protecting the workstations as making your server the first line of defense. If you server gets hacked, broken, trojaned or whatever, you're sunk anyway.

    <hr>What can be the reason that I can access and surf the internet but not see any other computers nor can any other computers see the server on the network?<hr>

    MS client? File and Printer sharing? Netbios? Wins? DNS and/or TCP-IP settings? Probably one of those things not configured properly. Fron a command prompt ipconfig /all will be instrcutive.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    I was able to get the domain to work over the weekend and everything seems to be back to normal for that problem. Just went back to the first NIC.

    For exchange....
    The error messages I receive are as follows:
    For trying to mount the store, I get this:
    An internal processing errors has occurred. Try restarting the Exchange System Manager or the Microsoft Exchange Information Store service, or both.
    ID no: c1041724
    Exchange System Manager

    When I try to delete the store, I get this:
    One or more users currently use this mailbox store. These users must be moved to a different mailbox store or be mail disabled before deleting this store.
    ID no: c1034a7f
    Exchange System Manager

    I think I received that error message or one fairly similar when I initially moved the database.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    Try this.

    Active Directory Users & Computers (ADUC) Select your domain, Right-Click. Choose Find.

    Find Users....

    Exchange Tab - Users with Excahnge mailboxes.

    You may find some users or administrative mailboxes that you overlooked.

    Jim

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    OK, I deleted the old store and made a new one.

    Now when I try to mount the store, I get this message still:
    An internal processing errors has occurred. Try restarting the Exchange System Manager or the Microsoft Exchange Information Store service, or both.
    ID no: c1041724
    Exchange System Manager

    Restarted the exchange information store and system attendant services, as well as the exchange system manager. Doesn't do anything.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    Here are a few Technet articles to look up:

    822449

    284205

    294318

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    You should be able to make links of those in the Lounge using:

    <code><!t>http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=</code>

    before%20the%20number%20and

    <code><!t>" target="_blank"><!/t>http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=</code>

    before the number and

    <code><!t></a><!/t></code>

    afterwards.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    Thank you for the tip. I know I should have known that, but I was feeling very, umm, "uncafienated" today. (Or maybe my mind was on the wedding gift woodworking project that I have about 8 days left to complete and I'm not sure what kind of finish to use <ack!> <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> ).


    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=822449

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=284205

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=294318



    Jim H
    Pittsburgh PA
    Go Stillers!

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    Ok, none of these solutions did anything, I still get the same problem.

    Today I reinstalled exchange server, nothing changed, still get the same error.

    I've deleted the old mailbox database, so now I just want to create a new one. I deleted the mailbox store in the primary store and made a new one, making new fles for everything. I still get the same error.

    I'm about ready to just reformat the server and start all over again.

    Is there anything else I can do?

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Some problems - SBS 2003, Exchange 2003

    It seems like there are a lot of different sorts of errors that can cause that particular error message. search through all the articles that match your error message at http://www.microsoft.com/kb and see I one of the other ones fits your situation.

    Did you run ESEUTIL ? What was the result?

    If you have data to save , and you've tried everything that you know how to do, consider calling MS Product Support Services. They know how to fix damaged databases, and will step you through the process safely.

    Jim Helfer

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •