Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    Let's say I have an NT 4.0 PDC that 8 PC's connect to. Those PC's are a mix of Windows NT 4.0 Workstation and Windows 2000 Pro. I want to buy a new server and use Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition. After the initial install, before the 2003 server has had any roles assigned to it, can it join an NT 4.0 domain or are they incompatible?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    Don't see why not. It would be nothing more than another work station. Not sure about the AD/domain relationship if that is what you are wondering. Do you want the ws2003 machine to be a BDC then promote it to take over? You probably need to do some reading at the MS WS2003 site on migrating from NT 4.0 to WS2003 Upgrading from Windows NT Server 4.0 .

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    Joe, that's the idea. I want the 2003 server to replace the existing NT server. I was thinking it would be easier to keep the NT server up while bringing up the 2003 server, copy over the data files and such from the old to the new, than shut off the old one never to be turned on again. Than I would begin assigning roles to the 2003 server (AD, DNS, DHCP, etc.).

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    Best would be to look at the link in my other post and start digging there.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    its will work as a member server. If you have a NT 4 domain, it cannot act as a PDC or BDC. therwise, you're ok.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    I don't know if it can join the domain or not, but even if it can, Active director is sufficently different, that you probably don't want to make the compromises that that would require.

    Consider this:
    - Install Win2003 in it's AD domain in "mixed mode" , and set up trusts between the two domains.
    - Use the Active Directory Connector (for exchange ? ) and the migration wizard to move or copy all the user info to the new domain. This is actually pretty slick, it will move users, machine accounts, and will even translate the profile settings on the workstations to the new domain.
    That's how I did our upgrade from NT4/Exchange 5.5. Besides our nagging the users for housekeeping chores, no one even noticed there was an upgrade going on.

    Jim

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    jhelfer, I'm looking into the possibility of migraing the accounts and computers using ADMT v2 instead of just creating new user accounts, joining them to the new domain and than setting up the local profiles. It seems easy enough, but we'll see how my testing goes in my tiny little lab environment.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: WS2003 and NT 4.0 Domain question

    I found ADMT a little squirelly, but it worked for us in the end. It seems to be picky about what order things are converted in, and the documentation could be better (or extant, in some cases).
    But not having to create new profiles for everyone makes it worth it.

    Jim H

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •