Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    I've got a new PC running Windows XP. I want to look up movie times at my local multiplex which is part of Vue cinemas, so I try to go to www.myvue.com. The status bar says it is opening the page, but nothing happens, until eventually IE says 'We can't find www.myvue.com'. But sitting alongside the new PC I have the old one running IE6 under Windows 98, using the same broadband connection via a router, and it can find the site perfectly well. So it's not that the address is wrong or that the site is down. I don't have difficulty connecting to other sites. I've tried this site several times with the same result. What's up?

    Ian

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    One thing to check for is a DNS problem. DNS servers are used to translate a url into an IP address. To see if this is a problem try to connect to http://62.172.196.226 (this is the IP address for http://www.myvue.com)

    I would also check your hosts file to see if an entry has somehow been added for the website.
    Look in C:WINDOWSSYSTEM32DRIVERSETC for a file called hosts

    Look in that file (you can open it with notepad), there should be an entry similar to "127.0.0.1 localhost"
    Is there any entry that refers to www.myvue.com?

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    Thanks for the prompt reply.

    (1) It doesn't work either when I try the actual IP address you quoted.

    (2) I looked in the hosts file and while there is an entry that says 127.0.0.1 localhost, there is no mention of www.myvue.com. The file says 'This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.'

    Ian

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    Hi Ian:
    That sounds like the hosts.sam file. You want to look at the <code>hosts</code> file (no extension).

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    A couple more ideas.

    Go to the command prompt (Start>All Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt)
    Enter "ipconfig /flushdns" without the quotes
    (For details on the ipconfig command see Windows XP documentation)

    I would also delete temporary internet files in case a corrupt file has somehow been stored which blocks access to the site
    Select "Tools>Internet Options..."
    The option to delete files is on the general tab.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    No, really that was the hosts file. - Ian

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    I tried both of those suggestions, but neither worked, I'm sorry to say.

    Ian

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    You might also want to check IE options>Security>restricted sites>sites, to see if that address is listed there. IF so, delete it.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    Thanks for the suggestion, but no sites are listed there yet. (I've only had the new PC three days!)

    Ian

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    That site uses Java.
    Have you installed a Java machine, as Windows XP does not install it by default, but some OEM's will?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    In Internet options in IE under Java VM,

    - Java console enabled IS NOT checked
    - Java logging enabled IS NOT checked
    - JIT compiler for virtual machine IS checked

    so does that mean I don't have it installed, and is checking those boxes all I have to do?

    Ian

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    If you have Java from Sun Microsystems installed then Internet options will include Java(Sun) just above Microsoft VM. To download the latest Java runtime go to Sun Microsystems

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    I don't have that, but I have checked on the old Windows 98 machine that can connect to the site and it doesn't either, in fact the settings for Java are the same as I mentioned above.

    Ian

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    You can get the Microsoft Java Machine at http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/javavm.html

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't connect to just one site (IE6)

    There is a difference between the settings (how IE should use Java) and the presence of the executable that actually can process it. Windows 98 probably shipped with a version of the Microsoft Virtual Machine. Due to security and legal issues, the MVM really isn't supported any more. Sun's Java Runtime Engine (JRE) is reasonably up-to-date and its performance on newer computers is reasonably good. Another site that uses Java that you can use to test whether you have it installed is:

    The Official U.S. Time - Pacific timezone

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •