Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dial-up networking

    My internet connection has suddenly stopped functioning. Shortcuts to my dial-up don't work. When I try to open DIal-up networking nothing happens. I do not get a "make new connection" icon. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling dial-up networking via Windows set-up. I was able to set up a "new" internet connection going through the control panel / internet options and using the Wizard, but once I connect make the initial connection I'm back to square one. I find no other way to connect. The modem itself is fine. Suggestions?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    Just on the outside chance that this is related to the DUN greyed out password box issue, you might search for and delete all *.pwl files. The pwl files are password files and are recreated as needed, so there is generally no harm in deleting them (as far as I have experienced).

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    Have you contacted your ISP to see if there is aproblem on their end ??? Who is the ISP ??? Have you run a complete virus scan and are the definitions up to date ??? It would seem that if you can set-up a new connection and connect to the internet there is something killing it on your end. Some viruses are known to do this. How long does the new connection last ??? Seconds, minutes or until you disconnect ?? The more information you can provide, the more we are able to help you.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    Mike

    Although PWL files will be regenerated as necessary, you will lose their contents if you delete them, and have to re-enter required info as needed. I'd recommend using 123 Write All Stored Passwords (WASP) to recover all stored information prior to delete. Small, <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> and very handy little utility.

    Alan

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    I do not believe it is ISP related. I now think it's related to a program (spyware?) entitled "vbouncer". I removed it and reinstalled dial-up networking and things worked until I rebooted. Vbouncer then returned. I'm working on wiping it out. I've downloaded an uninstall program but have'nt yet had a chance to run it on that PC. I may also install Spybot S&D. The machine runs Norton AntiVirus and once connected I'll be able to update the virus definitions. Thanks for you reply.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    Here's some info about vbouncer. If you don't already have Spybot and AdAware on your system, I'd recommend both programs highly. Download and update the programs, they're both <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>. Then scan your system twice with both programs. One will find things the other won't. Let them remove what they find (to quarantine) and then if what they removed causes a problem, you can restore it with no trouble.

    See this post for links to these and other useful, and unfortunately, necessary, programs. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    I'm still being frustrated! I've run Spybot numerous times and it found vbouncer along with several others. I purged them using Spybot and it indicates it has been successful. By removing dial-up networking and rebooting, then renaming rasapi32.dll and reinstalling dial-up, I can get dial-up working normally. Unfortunately, as soon as I reboot dial-up no longer works and a rescan with Spybot finds vbouncer again. Any more suggestions? I'm not positive that vbouncer is the culprit, but I want rid of it!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up networking

    I would agree you do not want it! Did you try the instructions in the vbouncer link Doc Watson gave you above?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •