Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA, Texas, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    Somehow I seem to have acquired a blank password during login. I just click on OK to go on, but it's a bit annoying. Help.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    You should probably have a ferret (or a wombat?!) around in

    Start => Control Panel => User Accounts => <your user account>

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA, Texas, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA, Texas, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    All I can find there is how to set a new password. What I really want to do is to have NO password; that is, when I turn the computer on, I want to go to the main screen with no user intervention.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)


  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    By chance did a second account get made and now you have both listed on the welcome screen?

    Or when is this password being asked for?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Blank Password (Pro, SP1)

    Some time back, shortly after I first moved to XP, I saw this behavior. Only one account, no password, but stopped on the Welcome screen anyway. After some experimenting I discovered the culprit-that time, anyway.

    It happened, repeatedly, after I downloaded .Net Frameworks (1.1, I think-but it might have been 1.0). This update created a 'hidden' account that didn't appear on the Welcome screen. It did show up in User accounts though, which is how I tracked it down.

    I'd been uncomfortable about the 'no password' thing anyway but at the time I was trying to network the XP machines with Win98 ones & wanted as simple a configuration as possible to start with. Figured that once the networking was working I could secure it later. (It never did work to my satisfaction-I just kept tinkering with it until I got rid of the last of the Win98 machines.) So I took that as a sign & added passwords. Later, at the customer's insistence, I added auto-login. (I wonder if the customer remembers what passwords I set up for them? I sure as heck don't.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •