Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2002)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 28-Jul-04 11:22. Deserves its own thread.)</P>Formerly in this thread.

    I am getting this same error message when trying to create a PDF. I am using Word XP SP2 and Acrobat 5.0.5 on Windows XP. I do not have this problem on Windows 2000.

    Since this happens with PDFMaker.dot, how do I use the "ActiveDocument.UndoClear" command. Would I add this to the template that the document is attached to or to my Normal.dot?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: 'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2

    Unless Adobe provided some editable VBA code, it is going to be difficult to do anything during the process of creating the PDF file. However, you could use the UndoClear method before starting that process and see if that helps. Perhaps easiest to save a macro you can run from the Macros dialog or a button:

    Sub ClearUndoBuffer()
    ActiveDocument.UndoClear
    End Sub

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2

    Thanks for your speedy reply. I already created a macro to run from the dialog box, but I can't get to it while PDFMaker is running. I am sure now, that that is my problem. I have hundreds of links and cross-referneces. If I turn those off, PDFMaker works fine.

    Any other ideas?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Columbia MD USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2

    Hi there..

    I used to have this problem all the time with Acrobat 5*. Upgrading to Acrobat 6 fixed it.

    The workaround I used before upgrading to Acrobat 6 was to get the Buzof shareware tool from http://www.basta.com. When installed, it sits in memory looking for certain events you define. If that event (the "insufficient memory" message) takes place, Buzof can be configured to choose OK, Cancel, whatever, without any intervention on your part.

    BTW, if you haven't done so already, consider at getting at least the v6 Acrobat Reader. It's display capabilities are (IMHO) much improved, especially for things like gridlines in tables. Of course, it has a REALLY annoying search function now, so I guess that balances things out. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    HTH,
    Arianna

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2

    Thanks so much Arianna. After reading a few posts from here, I had decided that it must be the undo buffer. I will check out the software you recommend. I do not know if my company is ready to upgrade to Acrobat 6., but since I am testing the XP world maybe they will let me use a trial version.

    I am so glad to finally find someone who has experienced what I am experiencing. I might try to contact Acrobat to let them know and maybe they will fix PDFMaker.dot??

    I have version 6 reader at home. I don't like the new search either... <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Columbia MD USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Word has insufficient memory' creating PDF (2

    I started having this problem back when I was using Acrobat (PDFMaker) 4, if not 3. I contacted Adobe at some point ....recollection is that Adobe considers the "insufficient memory" problem an inherent limitation in Word...make you wonder why it doesn't happen in Acrobat 6 if it really _IS_ Word's problem. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    All the same, if you do decide to go after them, my hat's off to you.

    Arianna

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •