Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> Does anyone know how to turn off a breakpoint that was set, forgotten, database closed, database opened, clear breakpoints was entered, database saved, deployed opened by user and the breakpoint take place. I've tried to reset the breakpoint and clear it but it still happens. I now I can retype the lines and then delete the old ones to correct the problem but there should be a better way? Anyone help on this would be greatly appreciated.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    Unless breakpoints work *very* differently in Access 2003 (not too likely since it's built on VBA6, the same as 2000 and XP), or unless you're talking about something different than code breakpoints, they should clear automatically when the Access session is closed. What exactly are you calling a"breakpoint"? Are you referring to breakpoints set in code with F9, the error trapping options in the project properties, or something else entirely?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    It has happened to me once or twice in Access 2002/XP: set a breakpoint, do some testing, quit Access, shut down PC. Start PC, start Access, open database - breakpoint still there. If I remember correctly, a decompile/compile/compact cycle got rid of it. I know it shouldn't be possible, but it happened...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    I've never had that happen, although I have occasionally seen the code break at the location of a breakpoint in a previous session. I concur with Hans' recommendation for a decompile to get rid of the craziness.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Charlotte,

    Thanks for your help.

    In an event of of a button on my form I clicked in the left margin to get that little brown dot on the line of code I want to stop at so I can step through the data to see what might be happening. Attached is where I set the breakpoint (I turned in on again just now and turning it off does not stop the breakpoint from happening.)


    (The * in the code has been changed to &.)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    Thanks Hans,

    I'll give this a try.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    Thanks Charlotte,

    This happens more times than I care to count. Since I'm thought of the Access guru (not even close, I would need to attend Hans U first) I get called on this often.

    I'll try Hans suggestion.

    Have a nice day.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    You are not alone, I have Access 2002 and it happens to me quite frequently. What I find I have to do is let it break, move it one line (F8) then save the Form, then continue the code (F5). This usually fixes the problem.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    Thanks Pat,

    I'll try this the next time it happens.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Salem, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    Using 2003. I just came looking for this "phantom breakpoint" problem. In my case, I unset the breakpoint after proving to myself that a new slice of code was working. I then hit clear breakpoints, saved, and recompiled the code. As far as I have been able to determine, A2003 only decompiles automatically when you change code. Does anyone know how to force it to decompile with a command line? In any case, I compacted and repaired the application, and shipped it to my users. Sometimes, not always, when they do certain functions, it stops at the site of the previous (supposedly removed) breakpoint. I have fiddled with it a bit, and found that moving the lines of code where the breakpoint was set in a prior life seems to solve it. I'll try the move down and reset maneuver the next time it happens. I propose this as a real and true Access Bug.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Resetting forgotten breakpoints (Access 2003)

    The thread starting at <post#=44,571>post 44,571</post#> explains about decompiling; there is a handy tip by MarkJ for adding a Decompile option to the right-click menu for .mdb files in Windows Explorer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •