Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    re-partition w/Acronis

    Well I've done it again... I've ignored my own advice and used PartitionMagic (by Acronis, part of True Image 8.0) to do its thing to my Win2K laptop and once again I'm <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> . I seem to be the only person alive who can't get any Acronis product to do what it's suppose to do (on 5 different computers no less).

    Two days ago I asked it to re-partition my 80GB hard drive which already had C:, D:, and E: partitions for a total of 80GB (C: had 660KB left, the other two were mostly empty). I told it to change D: from 29GB to 23GB and put the extra into a new partition L: Sounds easy.... but NNNNNNOOOOO, it's now 49 HOURS into the process and it's still on step 2 of 3!!! <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15> Step 2 is 89% complete as I write this. What is going on?? I went to the Acronis site to find their customer support phone number --- they don't have one!! Unbelievable. They actually expect people to send emails which rarely get answered in my experience. I did send an email just for the sake of saying I tried but it's 13 hours later and no reply. If I do get a reply it'll probably be a canned email suggesting I read their FAQ. They're in South SF so I'd be willing to drive the 2 hours from my house to <img src=/S/megashout.gif border=0 alt=megashout width=33 height=17> at their service manager.

    I know if I stop the computer now my system will be messed up but I have zero faith that if I wait another 39 hours (or 4 days whatever it takes) that the system will be functional either. I do have a two day old full image backup as well as a data backup (done with two other non-Acronis products) so *in theory* I could restore it - but I have had many problems with restoring from True Image before so my faith in restoring what I have isn't that good either.

    Questions:
    1. How can Acronis get away with not having tech support (email doesn't count since they don't reply). Or did I just not find it? (if so, why is it hidden?)
    2. How could a simple re-partition take 2+ days (and counting)
    3. Should I wait as long as it takes for this job to complete or turn it off and attempt to apply the stored image?
    4. What is wrong with my brain that I keep trying to use Acronis products?

    Deb <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Deb,
    To set the record straight, Partition Magic ( formerly owned by PowerQuest ) is now owned by Symantec. ( Norton )
    Acronis has nothing to do with Partition Magic, although it has it's own partitioning software.

    True Image 8 by Acronis is just that.... an Imaging program, not a partitioning program. Acronis has a partitioning program called Disk Director 9.
    So far as Acronis Support, I have had nothing but excellent results from them. Emails are answered promptly and correctly. See other posts regarding ACRONIS, not Partition Magic.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    I'm on board with Bob on this one Deb. You're mixing Apples and Oranges.

    The time factor would seem to be caused by Acronis' True Image creating an image of your C partition on your L partition. On a full (or nearly full) partition the system has a harder time reading and swapping out the data and it simply takes longer. If you were creating an image on CDs it can sometimes take days to image a large partition or hard drive.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Well so far it's way over 24 hours and no reply from Acronis. I mis-spoke when I called it PartitionMagic (as I did use this years ago). Acronis TrueImage does now include a partitioning program and that's what I have been using. I just now turned off the laptop as it's been50 hours of grinding and grinding (still 89% of step 2). I don't remember the name of their partitining program... but the point is it still doesn't work.

    I'll try to restore it from my image but from past experience I do not have high hope. BTW, do I just boot from the rescue CD or do I first reformat the hard drive like I had it before (with three partitions)?

    Deb

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Deb,
    I don't want to make waves or anything but I have Acronis True Image Version 8, Build 764, and there is NO new partitioning options there . ( where you can juggle partition sizes around form one drive to another WITHOUT destroying any data on either drive. (s)
    The listed options are:
    Create Image
    Restore Image
    Explore Image
    Unplug Image
    Disk Clone
    Add new disk
    Scheduled tasks
    Current Directory
    The closest thing to it is "add new disk" but that is for setting up and partitioning and formatting a NEW disk.

    Which one are you trying to use? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

    For restoring images, you can go either way, but if trying to restore the active boot drive C: it's best to use the boot disk and restore from it.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Bob,
    I'd hazard a guess that Deb is using Acronis Partition Expert. I have a copy of this that I have used successfully on a number of disks and it has never given me problems. I always do a backup followed by a full ScanDisk before changing partitions, just in case.

    Deb,
    I can sympathise, but I'm not sure anyone here is going to be able to offer any constructive suggestions. Is Partition Expert running completely on its own, or could there be any other software competing for resources or control of the disk?

    StuartR

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Yes it was PartitionExpert but I had nothing else running on the PC - heck it was grinding away over two entire nights.... It seems crazy to take days to create a 6 GB partition from a 29GB partition which had 89% free space). I certainly won't try that again, lesson learned. I'll have to live with the partitions I have.

    Anyway I killed it and restored the image - which actually worked for the 1st time ever (I've had no sucess with TrueImage on five different computers when I tried it last year).

    Bad news.... still no reply to my email to Acronis tech support - four days and counting. If that's anyone's idea of good customer service, they really have low expectations. <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> I did 8 years of tech support two jobs ago so I have high standards for tech support (it's a hard job to do well). I even had to occasionally go to the customer's place of business and do whatever it took, for how ever long it took, to get the problem fixed (eating dinner at 7-11 at 2am isn't my idea of fun time, ya know? *ha*). So many tech support folks are obviously reading from a canned script and are clueless (due to poor training, lack of movitation, low pay). I really appreciate it when I find a good one and I make sure I tell them (and their boss) that I was pleased with their efforts.

    Thnx,
    Deb <img src=/S/bow.gif border=0 alt=bow width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: re-partition w/Acronis

    Deb, I have to wonder if there was something wrong with the disk - errors, I mean - in order for you to experience a two day episode of partitioning. I had this happen once and it was a hardware problem elsewhere in the computer.

    I can sympathize with you on tech support - I too spent time at a help desk and have high standards, but I think email tech support tends to get lost in the cracks. I also try to remember that tech support does not pay all that well and there is a high turnover rate because of the demands and lower pay. Perhaps a second email to them would help? Going further along those lines, you would be even harder to ignore on the phone... <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Glad you've got your system working, at any rate.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •