Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Just recently switched to Firefox. Love it !!! It is now my default browser and I have recommended it to others. One feature I can't find however (and maybe it's not available). Is there any setting to have the browser refresh or reload a page each time it is visited? It's frustrating to have to click on the "Reload" button each time I view the main index of the lounge (to see if there are any new posts).
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    I haven't noticed a setting either, but have noticed that on each visit to the Main Index the clock is updating so can only assume it does reload each visit.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    My clock is updating as well Lief, but only when I initially load the page. If I view a post and then return to the index, neither the clock or hte "new posts" is refreshed unless I click the "reload" button.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    My computer is acting up right now or I'd give you the link, but I asked this very question in the Firefox forum. If you click on the Tools menu & go to the Extension download page, you'll see a number of extensions, including one for automatic reload. There are a number of useful extensions, especially the tab extensions, IE View (or something similarly named; you'll need it for the MS KB).
    Cheers,

    Found it: http://reloadevery.mozdev.org/

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Great. Thanks Phil. Refreshing perfectly now.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    I'm a little late to the game with my post, but here's how to do this without any extensions....

    <UL><LI>In the address bar, enter about:config
    <LI>In the Filter box, enter Cache and press enter
    <LI>Modify the value for browser.cache.check_doc_frequency. The valid values are:
    <UL><LI>0 = Once per session
    <LI>1 = Every time I view the page
    <LI>2 = Never
    <LI>3 = When the page is out of date (default)[/list][/list]The change is effective immediately. There are a lot of settings that are not exposed in the Options dialog box. This one, I think, really should be there, though. You can view other related preference settings here.

    Hope that helps,
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    WOW! This is one worth bookmarking. Thanks Mark. Is there anywhere that explains the options for each of these preferences?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Long list, but browsing it made me remember how annoying it is that bookmarks are not alphabetical, which led me to find this extension:

    Sort Bookmarks 0.5.0.1, By Torisugari, Last Updated: June 14, 2004

    I haven't tried it yet, but maybe later. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    They're somewhat scattershot all over the Mozilla website. Here are a few that I know of:<UL><LI>End-user Documentation
    <LI>Customizing Mozilla
    <LI>Hidden Mozilla Preferences (This one is a bit hard to read)[/list]Usually what I do is use the method I outlined before, making an educated guess or two - and then search on the term using Google. Seems to be easier than digging through the documentation!
    -Mark

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Hi Mark:
    This is great! Thanks for this. However, this is a little different than the extensions, isn't it? If you keep the Main Index or Personal Control Panel open all the time & want it to reflect new posts, you need the extension to keep refreshing it every X number of minutes. Your technique will refresh it if you close the tab & then reopen it, no?

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    The info on the cookie preferences has been updated and can be found here: Cookies Preferences in Mozilla. Looks like a work in progress to me (i.e., it doesn't always seem to work the way they say it should).

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Think you are correct on this Phil. As for the extension, it seems to be a bit unstable (at least on my system). I have noticed several times since installing, it looses the "enable" option. Right clicking and checking "enable" works for a while but then it is lost again. Oh well, this is a minor problem.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    I liked the old refresh extension that worked with 0.8, but it's not supposed to work with 0.9.2. It remembered your choice so that even if you closed & reopened the browser to that page, the automatic refresh rate would apply. This one seems less stable...hopefully, it will be improved.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    Correct. TabBrowser Extensions will also do this for you, but I tend not to use the Lounge in the same way as you have described. If you keep the main index or control panel open, then auto-refresh would be ideal - although it still may not check against the cached version, which is what that configuration setting forces Firefox to do.
    -Mark

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox cache (Firefox 0.9.2)

    I frequently use the back button when navigating through this forum, so I like the 'indexes' to be displayed the same until I choose to update them. When I want that update, I'll press CTRL-Shift-R.
    Christopher Baldrey

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •